Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Considering this Rig (opinion wanted)  (Read 2589 times)

Offline kmageau

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Considering this Rig (opinion wanted)
« on: June 20, 2005, 09:19:53 PM »
Hello,
   I am new to taping. I am considering the following rig. I am interested in other peoples opinions. I have a limited budget and already own a laptop.

I am considering:

UA25>Toshiba A45-S121>Cakewalk home studio v2 or Calkwalk Sonar v4

I need a recommendation on what type of cables I would need to patch into soundboards.

Thanks in advance for your opinions

Keith

Offline Fatah Ruark (aka MIKE B)

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • I dream in beige.
    • sloppy.art.ink
Re: Considering this Rig (opinion wanted)
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2005, 09:32:37 PM »
I would get a UA5. I don't know much about the UA25, but there are a ton of people using the UA5 for taping (including me).

Since you are using a laptop you can get a stock UA5. If you plan on getting a new recorder at some point (like a JB3), then I would splurge and get a Oade Digi-Mod UA5 (www.oade.com). That will allow you to recorded via the digi outs without the laptop hooked up.

Another + to the Oade unit is that you can send it back to them for mod's to the mic preamps.

Hope that helps.

MIKE B
||| MICS:  Beyer CK930 | DPA 4022 | DPA 4080 | Nevaton MCE400 | Sennheiser Ambeo Headset |||
||| PREAMPS: DPA d:vice | Naiant Tinybox | Naiant IPA |||
||| DECKS: Sound Devices MixPre6 | iPod Touch 32GB |||
|||Concert History || LMA Recordings || Live YouTube |||

Offline kmageau

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2005, 09:51:30 PM »
I was told by sonic sense that the U5 has been replaced by the UA25. I checked the specs they seem to be similiar. The Ua25 25 has a built in monitor also. The UA25 also requires no wall power input, It is powered by the USB connection
« Last Edit: June 20, 2005, 10:02:23 PM by kmageau »