Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Need help with my first time recording.  (Read 1793 times)

Offline Bannock

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Need help with my first time recording.
« on: June 10, 2010, 10:14:57 PM »
Hey there, I've been asked to help a friend to help him record some outdoor shows in a couple weeks.  He plans on using a couple HD digital cams to record the video but was hoping to find a way to get some better audio than what the cams provide.  One of the cams is going to be about 3 feet above the crowd (between 20 and 80 ft from the stage) and usually gets fairly decent audio but still picks up more crowd noise that what we'd like to have.  In the Enter the Matrix PDF it talks about mixing audio sources and that sounds perfect for what we'd like to have but I have zero experience in recording audio and would really like to come through for my friend and get a great recording to help him with his videos.

I would like to know what equipment i should be looking to purchase.  We can get to the soundboard for a few of the bands so I'd like to get the audio from that source.  I'm wondering if all I need is a large selection of cables and adapters, a digital audio recording device (am looking at a Zoom H2) and possibly attenuators.  I don't have a lot of money to throw around ($200-400) but would rather spend more money to get a good recording than throwing away money on a bad one.

Am I on the right track?  Does anyone have any advice on equipment or tips and tricks so I can at least get a useable recording on our first attempt?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  After reading through the forum a bit, I've become quite nervous and a bit overwhelmed.

Offline acidjack

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Need help with my first time recording.
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2010, 08:13:19 AM »
Lots of questions embedded there.