Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: DIY preamp for Edirol R-44  (Read 3640 times)

Offline nOrD

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • 3LEAVES
DIY preamp for Edirol R-44
« on: February 28, 2010, 08:31:37 AM »
Hi all,

I would like to extend my gear with a good quality preamp but do not have enough money to buy a Sound Device, for instance. I have some knowledge in electronics, mainly analogue audio and has built some amps, circuits before.

What I would like to realize is a quiet linear portable amp with two balanced I/O, switchable phantom power. Rather minimal design but quality parts. I have a little stock of caps, resistors, wires, etc at home.

Does somebody could help me with circuit and PCB design to think of? Cheap kits are also very welcomed :)

Thank you,
nOrD

Offline nOrD

• Taperssection Newbie
    • 3LEAVES
Re: DIY preamp for Edirol R-44
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2010, 09:56:36 AM »
Fixed or variable gain?  Battery power?  Size requirement?

Fixed gain (I think about 30-40dB), battery power by RB-270 (9VDC/5400 mAh), size depends on the covering box required, but something about 200x100x50 (in mm) would be perfect, I guess.

I forget to mention that I have a lot of tubes, from tiny nixies to larger types though DC/AC power conversion throw me away to think about anyway loved tubes for this project.

Offline DSatz

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2010, 02:18:39 PM »
The preamps in the R-44 are very good; why do you want to replace them?

I mean, I use an outboard Grace V3 for channels 1 and 2 most of the time, but that's because I find the metering on the V3 much clearer and I can select the low-cut frequency. It's not because the R-44 has bad mike preamps by any means. I've used them and gotten very good results.

I'm just asking. You might really have a reason.

--best regards
music > microphones > a recorder of some sort

Offline nOrD