Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Delay in Matrix Recording?  (Read 15141 times)

Offline Gr8ful98

• Swamp Funk Junkie
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • Harps & Drums
Delay in Matrix Recording?
« on: March 11, 2005, 08:41:57 AM »
Hey y'all,
   If I want to do a matrix...mics>UA5/SBD>UA5, but the soundboard is about 50 feet from the stage, what do I do?  I'm reading that there will be a delay between the sbd recording & the mics. Is there a special device or cable I need to run in order to even this out? If there is a special device or cable, where can I get it?  How bad will the delay be?  Will is seriously affect the recording?  Should I just stick with a straight sbd recording or mic recording?
I'm really excited about doing a matrix for the first time...but I don't wanna screw up the recording. 

I'm a newbie...so please speak to me like I'm in kindergarden.  I've done a few sbd recordings, only one mic recording...this is my first attempt at a matrix & the sbd is going to be at least 30-40 feet from the stage.

Any suggestions on how to get a good matrix in this enviornment would be appreciated!
Namaste,
John Dude

AKG 481's>HYDRA Silver XLR's>Dmod UA5>JB3
Hat>OadeBros Micro Binaural>9vBattBox>JB3

<<<<iso CK62/63's>>>>

Offline nic

• Big In Japan
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • half dead batteries
Re: Delay in Matrix Recording?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2005, 09:15:07 AM »
if your mics are at the sbd, in general, the delay will be equal to 1ms per foot distance between the stacks and sbd (other factors usch as humidity come into play, but 1ms/foot is the most common).

you can usually get away with a 20ms delay without it being too noticeable...anything more and it starts to sound like crap.