Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Best solder for homebrew cables?....opinions needed from cable makers...  (Read 4114 times)

Offline KLowe

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • CrossFit....check you ego at the door
New question.  Since there was a general concensus for best XLR connectors time to move on to solder.  I searched and it seems 22g lead free silver was the "best".

here is the question.  What % purity of silver.  rosin or no rosin?  Where can I get some of this "best" solder? 

Thanks again.

What is the consensus for "best" XLR connectors for home brew cables? 
Neutriks?
Switchcraft?

does it reall matter?

Thanks in advance for any recommendations.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2006, 11:24:33 PM by mofrogeek »
I actually work for a living with music, instead of you jerk offs who wish they did.

bwaaaahahahahahaha.... that is awesome!

Offline Todd R

• Over/Under on next gear purchase: 2 months
  • Trade Count: (29)
Re: XLR connectors....opinions needed from cable makers...
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2006, 03:00:56 PM »
Definitely go with Neutrik connectors.  Switchcraft makes good connectors, but their XLR connectors suck.  Hard to work with, not very robust.

I've never tried them, but for lower cost, you could get Neutrik X series knock-offs.  I'm pretty sure Neutrik's patent ran out on the X series, so there are a lot of X series imitations now.
Mics: Microtech Gefell m20/m21 (nbob/pfa actives), Line Audio CM3, Church CA-11 cards
Preamp:  none <sniff>
Recorders:  Sound Devices MixPre-6, Sony PCM-M10, Zoom H4nPro

cshepherd

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2006, 03:14:16 PM »
van den Hul switched from Neutrik gold plated to Neutrik silver plated {NC3 MX-BAG (male) and NC3 FX-BAG (female)} earlier this year.  The following is from their web site...http://www.vandenhul.com/other/c-connec.htm#XLR.

Please note:    Our standard XLRs will change from gold plated to silver plated contacts