Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Newbie advice - what's the difference between CA-14 and CA-11?  (Read 3810 times)

Offline GreatGig

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Newbie advice - what's the difference between CA-14 and CA-11?
« on: October 30, 2011, 10:47:26 AM »
Hi guys, brand new to the forum but I did pop in here a few years back, then lost you! Glad to have found it again....

Anyway, I'm new to taping as well as the forum, but have been passionate about live music for the past 35+ years, so thought it time to preserve some of those shows, as I ain't getting any younger  :-[ I have a gig tomorrow night and in my haste last week I bought a Zoom H1. I must admit the recording quality after playing around is not bad at all and I did intend to buy some external mics, but I am rather concerned about the very plasticky build quality and the fact I looks like it won't last long. So it's going back to Amazon and after reading here over the last couple of days, I have decided on a SONY PCM-M10. Next up for me are mics and my choices at the moment are between Church Audio and AudioReality, although it seems that CA would be the better buy?

I have looked at the CA website and eBay store and only see mention of CA-11's in my price range, but there are many posts here about CA-14's so can anyone point out what the difference is, or has the 14 been superseded? I'm looking to buy a battery box as well from CA or Studio Professionals. My intention is for recording mostly by stealth at live rock concerts, so predominately loud, but I do love female vocal, Americana and acoustic folk music too, so would need to do both - am I on the right track with the gear mentioned?.