Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: A few newbie questions re: cassette transfers  (Read 7372 times)

Offline dougt502

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
A few newbie questions re: cassette transfers
« on: June 24, 2011, 01:57:38 PM »
I am new to this world but am interested in transferring several analog (and dat) recordings into my hard drive before I lose it all to time.

Soundcard - internal or external USB?  (budget an issue, can spend around $100)
Azimuth - Do I adjust manually on my Nak Cr4a or playback on the original recording decks (d5 and PMD430)?
Sample rate and bit depth - it seems everyone has an opinion without a consensus   
Recording software - budget still an issue but don't need to cheap out

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks!

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: A few newbie questions re: cassette transfers
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2011, 02:24:56 PM »
Analog-to-digital conversion outside the PC is best to avoid noise and artifacts, so look for an external soundcard.
Adjust the azimuth, regardless of which playback deck you use, as the azimuth on the original deck(s) may have changed over time.
16/44 should be sufficient to capture the frequency response and dynamic range of a cassette.
Try Audacity.  It's free, reasonably powerful, if slightly clunky to use at times.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline greenone

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Russian mics... strong like bull...
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2011, 11:23:41 PM »
Analog-to-digital conversion outside the PC is best to avoid noise and artifacts, so look for an external soundcard.

Or, alternately, use your DAT deck as your analog-to-digital, and output to a separate device with digital in. I run straight to my field recorder - if you have it, no real need for a separate device.