Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Veteran Taper/New Equipment  (Read 3989 times)

Offline VinceG.

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Veteran Taper/New Equipment
« on: February 29, 2012, 12:30:06 AM »
Hello Everyone. I was referred to this site by a taper buddy at fan site for a popular rock band. I've been taping since around 1999, when I purchased my first MD recorder (Aiwa AM-F70) and Aiwa clip-on Stereo mic while stationed in Japan, and until recently, that gear has been my primary means of taping.

Within the last few weeks I've given serious thought to finally ditching my MD recorder and switching to something much more up-to-date. I've been doing some research on my own, along with the help of my fellow tapers at the fan site I mentioned above, and this is what I've narrowed it down to as far as what I would term "beginner's gear":

Recording unit:
Tascam DR-05

Mics:
http://www.soundprofessionals.com/cgi-bin/gold/item/SP-BMC-12

Pre-Amps:
SP-SPSB-8
SP-SPSB-10
SP-SPSB-11

Again, this is my first time working with this type of equipment. I'm working on a budget because I know recording equipment like this can get fairly pricey. I was told that this forum would be an excellent place for assistance and advice. If anyone can give me some insight as to how good this equipment is, or any other tips, I would appreciate it very much.

Thank you.

Offline darktrain

• Trade Count: (715)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Whats next?
Re: Veteran Taper/New Equipment
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2012, 12:45:04 PM »
Spend the few extra bucks and get the sony pcm-m10 and also read through the forum here. You can pick up some better mics here in the yard sale for a very nice price.

Offline acidjack

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (37)
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2012, 02:58:53 PM »