Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Omnis vs cards decision time (Stealth)  (Read 7102 times)

Offline madman

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Omnis vs cards decision time (Stealth)
« on: August 28, 2005, 01:09:27 AM »
I've been taping shows with the CSBs for a few years, I mainly tape loud shows in very small venues (think 500-1100 people venues) where the sound is sometimes horrible.  A couple venues are way too boomy, but I'm able to run the tape through some EQ software and roll that off.  I know cards would help in this situation, but I often get moved around during taping and am worried about the recording sounding bad with cards from movement.  I'm thinking the DPA4061s are the way to go, if I continue to get boomy recordings I can always fix it later.  Any thoughts?  Am I overreacting to how much movement would affect a pair of cards?  Thanks.

Offline Humbug

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Humbug Hum Rejection Unit
    • Trading site
Re: Omnis vs cards decision time (Stealth)
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2005, 07:49:20 AM »
How much movement? I found myself in the mosh pit while stealth taping BRMC last week, and it sounds OK. Took a lot of effort to stay facing forward, but even for the gentler gigs you can sway / tap feet a little.

Saying that, DPA4061s are probably the way to go, if you've got the cash :)
UK based taper: MK4>Nbox Platinum>PCM-M10
AT853C>CA9200 / PIPsqueak>Tascam DR-2D

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Humbug66

Ray76

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2005, 08:09:46 AM »