Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Newbie - My recordings keep distorting?!? Why?  (Read 3524 times)

Offline bananacamel

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Newbie - My recordings keep distorting?!? Why?
« on: November 14, 2010, 05:50:30 AM »
Hi There

I've been taping on and off for 20 years, but only recently got into solid state recorders.

I first bought a Zoom H2. Using the internal mics I was getting okay recordings, but when comparing quality with other tapers found mine (while listenable) lacked detail and carried too much bass.

So I bought some church audio mics with an ST-20a pre amp,  plugged them into the Zoom H2 and got a really poor distorted mess of a recording. This is with the pre-amp set to -27db and the zoom H2 on the lowest gain.

Went back to the internal mics for a while before deciding to buy a second hand Edirol R1, reports of great quality audio with poor build quality are fine because I'll only use the unit a few times a year.

With the church audio mics plugged in (to the mic port) (pre-amp left at home as there seemed no need for it) mic type set to CND, input levels coming up to below max on the peaks, as per instruction booklet. I was ready for my best quality recording to date, but no.

I listened to the recording of the support band, and it was a real mess, so for the main act i turning the input level down. No help, I just got a quiet distorted recording, rather than a loud distorted recording.

My question is very simple, what am I doing wrong?  Can anyone help me figure out how I can get my equipment to work together?

Your help would be much appreciated

Thanks, Dave

Offline anonymous_user

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: Newbie - My recordings keep distorting?!? Why?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2010, 06:35:42 AM »