Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: My C460/ck61 has low output - what to do...  (Read 2109 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jnorman

  • (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • I'm a llama!
My C460/ck61 has low output - what to do...
« on: September 08, 2019, 09:28:27 PM »
Hi guys - I have a single c460b with a ck61 cap that I use as a spot mic in the studio.  It sounds fine, but has a low output signal strength, like 10-12dB lower than my other similar mics.  I see a couple of good akg repair places I could send it - Richard land in Tennessee and David brown in LA.
However, I jus wanted to check with some of you who have had similar issues and see what/where/who you would recommend.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Jim

Offline datbrad

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2238
  • Gender: Male
Re: My C460/ck61 has low output - what to do...
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2019, 07:28:44 AM »
I find AKG 460s lean towards the hot side, and I've always had the sensitivity switched to -10db to use 36db gain position on my preamps(It's labeled attenuation, but it's  not a pad in the traditional sense).
Where do you have that switch set?
AKG C460B w/CK61/CK63>Luminous Monarch XLRs>SD MP-1(x2)>Luminous Monarch XLRs>PMD661(Oade WMOD)

Beyer M201>Luminous Monarch XLRs>PMD561 (Oade CMOD)

Offline DavidPuddy

  • (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1149
Re: My C460/ck61 has low output - what to do...
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2019, 09:33:30 AM »
Hi guys - I have a single c460b with a ck61 cap that I use as a spot mic in the studio.  It sounds fine, but has a low output signal strength, like 10-12dB lower than my other similar mics.  I see a couple of good akg repair places I could send it - Richard land in Tennessee and David brown in LA.
However, I jus wanted to check with some of you who have had similar issues and see what/where/who you would recommend.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Jim

This happened to one of my 460s, it looked like one of the transformers blew out. It's sitting in a drawer at home while I run 480s  :smash:

Is it worth fixing for $200+ (per Mr. Land) when you can get a replacement 460 for $150? Maybe, if you are really attached to it.

Offline DavidPuddy

  • (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1149
Re: My C460/ck61 has low output - what to do...
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2021, 09:02:14 PM »
Hi guys - I have a single c460b with a ck61 cap that I use as a spot mic in the studio.  It sounds fine, but has a low output signal strength, like 10-12dB lower than my other similar mics.  I see a couple of good akg repair places I could send it - Richard land in Tennessee and David brown in LA.
However, I jus wanted to check with some of you who have had similar issues and see what/where/who you would recommend.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Jim

This happened to one of my 460s, it looked like one of the transformers blew out. It's sitting in a drawer at home while I run 480s  :smash:

Is it worth fixing for $200+ (per Mr. Land) when you can get a replacement 460 for $150? Maybe, if you are really attached to it.

To follow up, I was able to repair the 460 by ordering part UE62 from Harman and replacing the broken one.

Online DSatz

  • Site Supporter
  • (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3154
  • Gender: Male
Re: My C460/ck61 has low output - what to do...
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2021, 04:47:06 PM »
And is that part the output transformer by any chance (where UE = Ü = Übertrager = transformer)?

Also, do you have the link handy for ordering AKG repair/replacement parts from Harman? That might be useful.
music > microphones > a recorder of some sort

Offline DavidPuddy

  • (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1149
Re: My C460/ck61 has low output - what to do...
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2021, 05:56:08 PM »
And is that part the output transformer by any chance (where UE = Ü = Übertrager = transformer)?

Also, do you have the link handy for ordering AKG repair/replacement parts from Harman? That might be useful.

Dsatz - You are correct, it's the output transformer. Unfortunately, there's not an web site where you can order the parts.

This is the site I initially used: https://pro.harman.com/service

I ended up calling them to order the part - it was around $40 if I remember correctly.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.041 seconds with 29 queries.
© 2002-2021 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF