Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Newbie question regarding mic selection  (Read 4732 times)

Offline stizzal

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Newbie question regarding mic selection
« on: July 02, 2010, 09:46:38 PM »
Alright, hope some people here can help.  I'm just getting into taping, and got a free Sony ICD-UX71.  Let me cut you off by saying I know, its not an appropriate recorder for shows, but it was free so that's what I'm working with for now until I figure out if I like the hobby and until I get more money.

I do need a mic.  I've researched on this site and a few others and have listened to live recordings.  What are people's opinions between the Sony ECMMS907 and the Sony ECM719?  I'm going for concealment, but I want to be able to pick up the best sound I can.  My budget for a mic is around $130, so if there are other mics out there, please let me know.  I also probably need a separate battery pack for gain, so any suggestions there will be appreciated.  Thanks!

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

• <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: Newbie question regarding mic selection
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2010, 12:48:48 AM »
Look into the Church Audio stuff.  People seem to have success with his gear.

Terry

***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

Offline Johnny Thunder

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Regular
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2010, 12:22:26 PM »