Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: How to best use the Sony ECM-717 mic (and/or user's experiences)...?  (Read 13026 times)

Offline mysterymadman

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hi,

I'm a newbie to bootlegging in general (so far I only taped one major show, being Depeche Mode), and to this forum too. I hope my questions are not stupid, offensive or somehow in conflict with the rules of this board...

Here's the situation: In a few weeks time I intend to tape Iron Maiden indoors using a Sony MZ-R50 MD with an ECM-717 microphone, and I have yet to perfect the recording quality of that linage.  ::)

Firstly, I have performed some tests with this combination, and there is a (seemingly) weird thing: when putting a (fresh new) battery in the mic, and switching it on, the LED flashes once (for a tiny fraction of a second) and then stays off. This seems weird to me. Can anyone tell me whether this normal?

Sony doesn't officially show the manual online anymore, but after some trial and error trying to change some of their documentation base URLs, I found the manual at: http://www.docs.sony.com/release/ECM717.PDF

However, I find the manual somewhat unclear regarding the LED status (in one place it mentions: "The red lamp (sic!) on the microphone will flash", and in a different location it says: "The red lamp (sic!) lights up dimly or goes out when the battery is weak.")...
I find this contradicting; is the battery supposed to only flash once, or stay on?!?  ???

Secondly, on another seemingly weird note, the recorder's manual (see page 12 of: http://www.docs.sony.com/release/MZR50.PDF) mentions that the mic should be plugged into the "MIC (PLUG IN POWER)" hole. All swell, but again, according to the above mentioned mic manual, the mic should then be switched to off (and hence should use the recorder's power, instead of the battery's one)...
Is this indeed the preferred setting, or are there better options?