Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Does Size Matter? (J-Disk Question)  (Read 12434 times)

stevetoney

• Trade Count: (0)
Does Size Matter? (J-Disk Question)
« on: April 06, 2010, 12:43:04 PM »
OK, I've been telling my wife for many years now that size indeed matters  :-*, but taking this very important subject in a different direction, I was wondering if people that are experienced with applying the J-Disk concept can comment on whether or not the size of the disc matters alot with respect to creating separation. 

The reason I'm asking is that I'm now in the process of 'designing' my four mic setup, which will include omni's.  So, I'm contemplating a more compact setup at the top of my stand that includes a fairly closely spaced pair of omni's separated by a modestly sized piece of fur/foam.  Obviously, compact is a good goal, but the reason I'm asking this is that my first priority is sound, so if I have to sacrifice sound/effect for size, I want to err in the direction of sound/effect. 

PS:  People that have experimented with this, you don't have to re-post the pictures of your setup.  I've seen the pictures and I know how and what this looks like...I'm more interested in hearing what you have to say about your results.

Thanks!

Offline boojum

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Does Size Matter? (J-Disk Question)
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2010, 06:39:42 PM »
I have used my J-disk with DPA 4006 TL's, the mics it was designed for.  I built it to spec, or very close to spec.  I was not overly impressed with it but used it only in one venue on one group, a chorale.  Perhaps I should try it some more.

I would not try to re-invent this thing.  Jecklin is pretty sharp.  Other similar efforts work but I wonder how well.  I  know of no comparison tests.

L8R