Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Great sounding Mono Rig?  (Read 3963 times)

beenjammin

• Trade Count: (0)
Great sounding Mono Rig?
« on: January 25, 2011, 05:03:47 PM »
Hi Folks,

I'm posting to solicit advice about a simple, but excellent sounding, mono field recording rig. I'm a musician and want to step up my recording gear. As you can tell, I'm pretty green in this area. I want something that is easy to use and sounds great.

I want to record both acoustic instruments and be able to take mono-nature/ambient/effects recordings to mix into my music.
Ideally, I'd want a few different mics for this -- I know -- and eventually, I'll expand.

Given that I want a natural/neutral, and uncolored/detailed sound, I've settled on an omni mic. I also really like that they are open, more resistant to handling noise and are responsive to up-close micing.

I've had the DPA 4060 and loved the clarity of it, but it sounded a touch harsh in the end for me, and I'd like to dial things back a bit.

Here are some options I'm currently looking at:

Mics: Schoeps MK 2 with the CMBI/CMC6 Body or DPA 4090
Recorders: Oade Sup MOD Marantz PMD 661 or Oade Sup MODE Marantz PMD 620

Apparently the 4090 is smoother than the 4060, so that's why I'm considering it. It's also much cheaper than the MK2. Perhaps this would give me the clarity I'm after but be less harsh as the 4060.

The 661 with the MK2 might be ideal, but it's really out of my budget right now. I could wait to save up, but, uh, I'd rather not...

So for now, this puts me at a choice between:
1) Oade Sup MOD 620 with the MK2 and CMBI body, or
2) Oade Sub MOD 661 with the 4090

I don't think I'll profit much for the 661's 96K option and will record in 24/48 most of the time.

Option 2 is significantly cheaper than 1 and I'm leaning towards it right now, but thought that I'd see what you guys think - maybe the MK 2 is better suited for my needs than the DPA and is worth the extra money?