Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: CA-14 OK for both clubs / shows and home recording?  (Read 3049 times)

Offline SquirrelMurphy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
CA-14 OK for both clubs / shows and home recording?
« on: October 25, 2011, 02:31:10 AM »
I'm a newb but I've been reading here for a while now. I have a PCM-M10 and I've recorded a club show and some home jam sessions with the built-in omnis so that's my whole taping resume right there. I want to upgrade the mics and want to check my assumptions before I pull the trigger.

My general use is twofold: record rock music in clubs / small theaters and to record ambiently in a home studio (rock jam sessions). The studio is maybe 25x30 and I usually just tripod mount the M10 in the center of the room because there's a drum kit and a variety of amps there. Stealth isn't critical but I don't want to deal with lots of gear when I go to see a show. I'd rather keep it simple and small in a club but then use the same gear to record when we play music in the studio. Maybe I ultimately need two sets of mics, but for now I'm buying one rig and need to start somewhere.

Budget is low. Maybe $200-$250. I just want to get started and see how this goes.

From what I've read, CA-14 cards and a battery box will get me going. Maybe I add a pre-amp later. Sound acceptable for this use?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Offline F.O.Bean

• Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: CA-14 OK for both clubs / shows and home recording?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2011, 10:52:04 PM »