Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Is the Sony M10 good for me and my Schoeps?  (Read 4250 times)

Offline aero

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Is the Sony M10 good for me and my Schoeps?
« on: August 02, 2013, 03:06:31 AM »
Hello everyone,
first post here although I've been reading the forum quite a lot in the past months.
Quick intro: I write music for a living, field recording is a passion that sometimes I use as an inspirational element and source material when writing.

I have some good recording gear in my studio, which is not portable at all...
So far I have been recording in the field with dats, minidisks, modded phones, condenser and dynamic mikes...with mixed results.

Now I want to get a decent budget portable recorder and after reading here it seems to me that the Sony PCM - M10 is the best choice.

I have a couple of question that I'd like to submit to your expertise:

- How good are the in-built mikes for field recordings?

- Do you think I should instead get something like a Zoom H4n to get my Schoeps cmc 5 to work with it right out of the box?

- Or shall I just get by with Sony's internal mikes and upgrade to a portable pre when budget permits it?

many thanks for your replies  ;)

val
« Last Edit: August 02, 2013, 05:09:36 PM by aero »

Offline earmonger

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • 20-20000 Hz
Re: Is the Sony M10 good for me and my Schoeps?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2013, 11:26:35 AM »
The internal mics of the PCM-M10 are excellent for recording conversation, ambient sounds, etc.  Very natural sounding--picked up the birdcalls during a recorded conversation outdoors. Probably not comparable to your Schoeps of course.

They Sony specs on the mics claim 20-20,000 Hz but one reviewer (scroll way down) found a roll-off under 100Hz.

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:2jJ7iuk-gygJ:bartus.org/akustyk/PCMM10/