Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony trouble... buy Sound Professionals in Europe?  (Read 9627 times)

Offline LSD

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • LarsDideriksen.com
Sony trouble... buy Sound Professionals in Europe?
« on: June 25, 2005, 05:44:47 PM »
I guess I'm a newbie compared to most you guys here. I hope you can help.

I can't seem to get good results with my Sony ECM-MS907. I was hoping it was the kind of mic that would pick up the sound in a venue much like one's own ears (in lack of a better explanation). But it only seems to pick up sound close to the mic. Hence the live music has to be quite loud, but then still sounds rather "dead" when I listen afterwards (maybe even have had too boost the sound). And noises close by are then loud.

I plug it into "line in" as I figure that would be right now that the mic has it's own battery. Anyway, when I try plugging it into the "mic in" it gets very easily distorted. Simple too loud. No matter what I do.

The mic is nice for home recording guitar and such. But is it simply the wrong mic for recording live music? It seems to me. Or am I doing everything wrong?

I can see that Sound Professionals seems to be "the thing" here. Anywhere one can buy those in Europe? Would like to avoid customs trouble when getting such from the US.

Or should I go out and find something else? Used to have a clip mic years ago. It picked up the venue as it should, although sound quality could be better.

Any of the others Sonys okay? What's with the ECM-DS70P?

Geez, I really need some help here, as you can probably see? I need to record some gigs in August. Hopefully I'll have a good new mic (or know how to use the one I have?!) before then.

Thanks,

L
« Last Edit: June 25, 2005, 05:59:04 PM by LSD »

Ray76

Re: Sony trouble... buy Sound Professionals in Europe?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2005, 05:51:40 PM »
I guess I'm a newbie compared to most you guys here. I hope you can help.