Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect  (Read 2770 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Justy Gyee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 478
  • Gender: Male
    • justys llama
remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« on: April 10, 2023, 04:13:10 PM »
not a taping question, but a damn, i cant figure this out question.

ive set up my ports on the modem and checked firewall status.
i can connect remotely from my home network, but unable to from outside networks.
testing from work, were RDC is used for work purposes, so i dont think that network is the problem.
ive read about two dozen articles that all stop with guidance after modem/firewall settings.
any ideas on whats keeping me from logging in remotely?
if it aint broke, don't fix it

Offline kliked

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2023, 03:06:58 PM »
So you have a win10 machine at home you'd like to connect to via RDP from outside your home network?  Does it have to be RDP or will any type of remote access work?

Offline anodyne33

  • You'll have that
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 14746
  • Gender: Male
  • All my life there's been the magnets.
    • Lucky
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2023, 03:25:29 PM »
new IP address?
Pockets full of nickels and nothing left to eat, and I'm stuck behind a semi on Soniat Street.

Offline Justy Gyee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 478
  • Gender: Male
    • justys llama
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2023, 01:57:43 PM »
So you have a win10 machine at home you'd like to connect to via RDP from outside your home network?  Does it have to be RDP or will any type of remote access work?
yes, it could be another type of remote access, but im starting with the app thats on both machinces

new IP address?
new IP address, same problem.
not connecting from external network
if it aint broke, don't fix it

Offline rocksuitcase

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8257
  • Gender: Male
    • RockSuitcase: stage photography
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2023, 03:17:55 PM »
When you say "outside networks" are you referring to say, going to the auto shop/dealer and connecting from there to your work?
Are you connecting with THEIR "free" wiFi?
1] If so, their firewall may prevent RDP tunnels. OR
2] Your adapter might be set to public as opposed to private. That has screwed me up more than one might think.
3] From only empirical knowledge, Win10 appears to not allow public adapters to connect via RDP

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/make-a-wi-fi-network-public-or-private-in-windows-0460117d-8d3e-a7ac-f003-7a0da607448d   
music IS love

When you get confused, listen to the music play!

Mics:         AKG460|CK61|CK1|CK3|CK8|Beyer M 201E|DPA 4060 SK
Recorders:Marantz PMD661 OADE Concert mod; Tascam DR680 MKI x2; Sony PCM-M10

Offline kliked

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2023, 03:48:57 PM »
You say you've set up your ports...so you have set a static IP on your local machine and that's the address you've port forwarded? For instance, you've set your desktop to statically use 192.168.1.2 (or whatever Nat addressing scheme your router uses) and in your router you have forwarded port 3389 to that IP?  From outside you would open RDP and enter your public facing IP address of x.x.x.x, which you can find via whatismyip.com.  If you attempt the RDP connection from outside your network using either the machine/host name or internal IP it will fail.  Also, I believe win10 will only allow external connections on Pro or enterprise versions, not home.

You could also use something like team viewer which is generally easier to set up.

Offline Justy Gyee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 478
  • Gender: Male
    • justys llama
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2023, 03:29:15 PM »
after hours of trying to make RDC work i gave up and installed teamviewer.
thanks for the advice and support given. i do appreciate it.
if it aint broke, don't fix it

Offline rigpimp

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Gender: Male
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2023, 05:21:18 PM »
after hours of trying to make RDC work i gave up and installed teamviewer.
thanks for the advice and support given. i do appreciate it.

Teamviewer will work for a bit but will likely reset at some point too.  Just install Chrome Remote Desktop and thank me later.  It is so much more lightweight than RDP or Teamviewer and the UI panel is super intuitive.  (Upload/Download/view multiple Monitors, etc)
Mics: Schoeps MK 5 MP, Schoeps MK 8 MP, Schoeps MK 41 MP, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2, Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Baby Nbox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6ii, Sony PCM-A10
Playback: Jolida 1501 Hybrid > McIntosh MX 130 > Von Schweikert VR-4 JR, or Little Dot MK III > Sennheiser HD700
http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider
https://www.concertarchives.org/kskreider
https://archive.org/details/thespps

Offline Justy Gyee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 478
  • Gender: Male
    • justys llama
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2023, 08:08:26 PM »
after hours of trying to make RDC work i gave up and installed teamviewer.
thanks for the advice and support given. i do appreciate it.

Teamviewer will work for a bit but will likely reset at some point too.  Just install Chrome Remote Desktop and thank me later.  It is so much more lightweight than RDP or Teamviewer and the UI panel is super intuitive.  (Upload/Download/view multiple Monitors, etc)
thanking you now.
if it aint broke, don't fix it

Offline rigpimp

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Gender: Male
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2023, 09:30:54 PM »
after hours of trying to make RDC work i gave up and installed teamviewer.
thanks for the advice and support given. i do appreciate it.

Teamviewer will work for a bit but will likely reset at some point too.  Just install Chrome Remote Desktop and thank me later.  It is so much more lightweight than RDP or Teamviewer and the UI panel is super intuitive.  (Upload/Download/view multiple Monitors, etc)
thanking you now.

I have CRDP set up on every machine I need access too (including my elderly mother)  I can remote into any of them from the CRDP app on my Android phone and it's like I am on a PC.  No need for anything more although I have been talking so many folks into using it, I have to figure out how to allow two users on one machine.
Mics: Schoeps MK 5 MP, Schoeps MK 8 MP, Schoeps MK 41 MP, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2, Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Baby Nbox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6ii, Sony PCM-A10
Playback: Jolida 1501 Hybrid > McIntosh MX 130 > Von Schweikert VR-4 JR, or Little Dot MK III > Sennheiser HD700
http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider
https://www.concertarchives.org/kskreider
https://archive.org/details/thespps

Offline Justy Gyee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 478
  • Gender: Male
    • justys llama
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2023, 04:55:03 PM »
thanks again Keith! this is going to work out just fine for my needs.
if it aint broke, don't fix it

Offline anodyne33

  • You'll have that
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 14746
  • Gender: Male
  • All my life there's been the magnets.
    • Lucky
Re: remote desktop for win10 unable to connect
« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2023, 10:02:23 AM »
Also, I believe win10 will only allow external connections on Pro or enterprise versions, not home.

Oooh. Forgot about that one. Super glad I upgraded while I had the legit excuse to do it for work.
Pockets full of nickels and nothing left to eat, and I'm stuck behind a semi on Soniat Street.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.073 seconds with 35 queries.
© 2002-2024 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF