Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.  (Read 4966 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (149)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4562
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2023, 12:10:48 PM »
I would agree! 

It looks to be a 32 bit file and I would guess that is your issue.
Mics: DPA ST4011ER & 4018ER
Preamps: DPA MMA 6000 | Audioroot Femto
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-10 II | Sony PCM A10

-20        -12         -6        TDS   (32/48)     
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][}   
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][} 
__________________________
|Record|  Runtime: 4:19.99  {|||] 75%

Offline goodcooker

  • Trade Count: (43)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4608
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2023, 12:13:20 PM »
Select one of your saved files that was output from Audition that you think is 24bit. Right click on it and open Properties. In the details it will tell you if what the file is being saved as.

It looks like you think you are saving as 24 bit but are actually saving as 32bit.

It's been years since I used Audition so I'm not much help on how to fix it but at least you can narrow down your issue.

Also, in Wavelab which I use for almost all my editing - in the format selection box Windows PCM is actually ADPCM format. There's a separate selection called just PCM that saves WAV containers. Check your selections and try a few different things then go back and check the properties of the saved file until it's what you are looking for.
Line Audio CM3/OM1 || MBHO KA500 hyper>PFA|| ADK A51 type IV || AKG C522XY
Oade Warm Mod and Presence+ Mod UA5s || Aerco MP2(needs help) || Neve Portico 5012
SD Mixpre6 || Oade Concert Mod DR100mkii

pocket sized - CA11 cards > SP SB10 > Sony PCM A10

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline jefflester

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1547
  • Gender: Male
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2023, 01:07:19 PM »
Here I have a file I recorded Saturday on a DR-680mkII, a 24-bit/48kHz file. Then all I did was open it in Adobe Audition 3.0 and save a copy. The saved file is now 32-bit floating. AA3.0 automatically does that with any 24-bit upon opening, converts it to 32-bit floating.

« Last Edit: May 19, 2023, 01:17:03 PM by jefflester »
DPA4061 HEB -> R-09 / AT943 -> CA-UGLY -> R-09
AKG CK63 -> nBob actives -> Baby NBox -> R-09/DR2d
AKG CK63 -> AKG C460B -> Zoom F8/DR-680MKII
Line Audio CM4/Superlux S502/Samson C02/iSK Little Gem/Sennheiser E609/Shure SM57 -> Zoom F8/DR-680MKII (multitracked band recordings)

Offline jefflester

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1547
  • Gender: Male
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2023, 01:10:26 PM »
So when you open the file it becomes 32-bit floating, that becomes the default when you turn around to save it. Looks like you have to use the "Options" under Save As to get 24-bit.

« Last Edit: May 19, 2023, 01:12:46 PM by jefflester »
DPA4061 HEB -> R-09 / AT943 -> CA-UGLY -> R-09
AKG CK63 -> nBob actives -> Baby NBox -> R-09/DR2d
AKG CK63 -> AKG C460B -> Zoom F8/DR-680MKII
Line Audio CM4/Superlux S502/Samson C02/iSK Little Gem/Sennheiser E609/Shure SM57 -> Zoom F8/DR-680MKII (multitracked band recordings)

Offline jefflester

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1547
  • Gender: Male
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2023, 01:13:43 PM »
Hey, it worked. I've been using AA3.0 for probably a dozen years with 24-bit files and just learned this. I tried opening the "AA3" file (32-bit floating) in CD Wave and got the error, the "24" file opened fine.

« Last Edit: May 19, 2023, 01:16:36 PM by jefflester »
DPA4061 HEB -> R-09 / AT943 -> CA-UGLY -> R-09
AKG CK63 -> nBob actives -> Baby NBox -> R-09/DR2d
AKG CK63 -> AKG C460B -> Zoom F8/DR-680MKII
Line Audio CM4/Superlux S502/Samson C02/iSK Little Gem/Sennheiser E609/Shure SM57 -> Zoom F8/DR-680MKII (multitracked band recordings)

Offline ts

  • Trade Count: (81)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3611
  • Gender: Male
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2023, 01:58:54 PM »
Thats it, for some reason since the windows update, every is now saving in 32bit. Prior to the update everything saved in 24bit, which is what the original recordings are in.   :shrug:  So how do I get AA 3.0 to go back to the way it was?

Offline nassau73

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 151
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #21 on: May 19, 2023, 02:22:36 PM »
Thats it, for some reason since the windows update, every is now saving in 32bit. Prior to the update everything saved in 24bit, which is what the original recordings are in.   :shrug:  So how do I get AA 3.0 to go back to the way it was?

I believe AA3 always opened 24 bit in 32 bit float (as Jeff Lester pointed out earlier). My AA3 no longer functions but when I did use it and started recording in 24 bit, I was creating 16/44.1 edits for CD's and seeding. It was only when I started seeding at Lossless Legs (where folks seem to gravitate towards 24 bit) that I ran into "bad format" responses from Traders Little Helper when trying to create flac files. It took me awhile to figure out that everything needed to be exported as 24 bit if that's what I wanted to keep.

I'm trying to remember if I exported a 24 bit file as 24 bit from AA3 - did AA3 keep 24 bit rather than opening in 32 bit float. I think that AA3 does that conversion to 32 bit float in order to give more headroom during editing.

Offline ts

  • Trade Count: (81)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3611
  • Gender: Male
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #22 on: May 19, 2023, 05:26:39 PM »
I've only ever used audition. Before that cool edit. In AA3 I import in 24/48, which is what I record at. AA processes in 32bit and when I export/save, it saves back in 24bit. Always been that way. I'm still blaming this "new feature" on this last windows update. So when I get a chance I'll see if I can resample to 24bit from 32. I've never had to that before now. Or I can resample down to 16, I'm sure.

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 6456
  • Gender: Male
  • Feel brand new about it
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #23 on: May 20, 2023, 07:21:21 AM »
You shouldn't have to resample. As Jeff mentioned above, you need to make sure that when you go to save the file in AA3, on the Save As box click "Options" at the very bottom, then make sure under "Format 32 bit data as" select > "24-bit packed int (type 1, 24-bit)".

It is normal for AA3 to open your 24-bit WAVs as "32-bit integer float", but something triggered your saving options (Windows update or otherwise) and likely needs to be reset.

I, too, have been using AA3 for 10-12 years on a Win 10 machine and had no issue transferring shows last month. I also opened the edited WAVs directly in CD Wave afterwards for tracking, so the workflow was the same as yours.
mg m20.21.23 ■ akg ck61.62.63 » nbob■naiant » aercomp2 ■ v2
dpa 4061 » mma-a.6000
d100 ■ r44ocm

Offline ts

  • Trade Count: (81)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3611
  • Gender: Male
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #24 on: May 20, 2023, 02:19:29 PM »
Alright, all good. I wish I spent some time reading Jeff's posts. I was a little distracted yesterday. Thanks audball for pointing that out. I still think that windows update did something. I am certain I did not go into options and change save as to 32 bit.  :smash:

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 6456
  • Gender: Male
  • Feel brand new about it
Re: Good replacement for CD Wave Editor.
« Reply #25 on: May 20, 2023, 04:34:24 PM »
^ I was curious as to why I never encountered an issue. Maybe it was something I had to select way back and forgot about it.  :shrug:

Hopefully yours remains after switching back. It's good to know where to look if the issue ever arises.

Not to derail, but has anyone tried running AA3 on Windows 11?
mg m20.21.23 ■ akg ck61.62.63 » nbob■naiant » aercomp2 ■ v2
dpa 4061 » mma-a.6000
d100 ■ r44ocm

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.054 seconds with 34 queries.
© 2002-2024 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF