Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: CD Wave Editor Question  (Read 11110 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sterling

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 625
  • Gender: Male
CD Wave Editor Question
« on: January 24, 2006, 06:19:34 PM »
Does anyone change the settings for CD WAVe eDITOR? Silence level or silence time for split?

I'm trying to track this show and its not recognizing the gaps...at all.

FWIW...its a keller williams show. Maybe thats my problem  :P. Lots of KW fans around here I know I know.

Any help would be great.

Offline dmonterisi

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 11952
  • Gender: Male
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2006, 08:04:55 PM »
i don't use the auto-split functions.  i just drop markers manually, it doesn't take all that long, especially if you just want the breaks where the levels drop, you can see it pretty easily in the waveform.

Offline Gedit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 476
  • Gender: Male
    • It's Live From
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2006, 11:40:32 PM »
i find cdwave a bear for tracking shows. it's awkward imo.
24-track mobile audio and video production
Onyx 1640 > Alesis HD24
----------------------------------------------------------------
It's Live From
Taking Live Performance to the Next Level
http://www.itslivefrom.com
gewing@radiodial.org

Offline Patrick

  • Evil Urges, Baby.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5220
  • Gender: Male
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2006, 11:42:43 PM »
i find cdwave a bear for tracking shows. it's awkward imo.

Wow.  I don't find it any easier.  It's alot better than tracking with Audacty or Wavelab.  Just wondering, What do you use that would be easier?
Monitor Engineer: Band of Horses, Cage the Elephant, Bruce Hornsby, The Head and the Heart, Josh Ritter

Live Music Archive Bookmarks

Offline Gedit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 476
  • Gender: Male
    • It's Live From
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2006, 11:46:33 PM »
ive used sound forge for so long im stuck in the SF rut i guess. im beginning to use cdwave now cause of the SBEs inherent to SF - it galls me that SF doesn't provide a way to eliminate them automatically like cdwave does, adding the shntool step to the tracking process ... but ...

24-track mobile audio and video production
Onyx 1640 > Alesis HD24
----------------------------------------------------------------
It's Live From
Taking Live Performance to the Next Level
http://www.itslivefrom.com
gewing@radiodial.org

Offline Patrick

  • Evil Urges, Baby.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5220
  • Gender: Male
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2006, 12:23:49 AM »
With Sound Studio, go to View>Edit Grid and enter grid lines every 588 samples. Then use the 'snap to grid' feature and every marker you drop should be on a sector boundary.

However, it's just as easy to cut wherever you want and then use the 'fix SBE' tab of xACT to encode to FLAC and align on sector boundaries at the same time - that's what I do. Then use the 'shntool' tab to do a 'show len for fileset' or 'show len by disc' to create the track listing and timing for your info file.

Here is a quote from a Macintosh Tracking thread, I really don't know if it can be applied to soundforge, but I thought I'd throw it out there.  I'll bety there is a way that you can cut on Sector Boundaries in Soundforge.

Monitor Engineer: Band of Horses, Cage the Elephant, Bruce Hornsby, The Head and the Heart, Josh Ritter

Live Music Archive Bookmarks

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18868
  • Gender: Male
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2006, 12:27:32 AM »
it galls me that SF doesn't provide a way to eliminate them automatically like cdwave does

I'd be surprised if SF doesn't provide the ability to set the time format to 75 frames per second (fps).  Doing so will eliminate the SBEs when tracking in SF.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40690
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2006, 06:45:48 AM »
IMO cd wave is the easiest/best program out there for friendliness and ease of use
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250|0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v|Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline Sterling

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 625
  • Gender: Male
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2006, 09:47:16 AM »
IMO cd wave is the easiest/best program out there for friendliness and ease of use

Bean your back! (Maybe I missed it though)

Do you change the settings at all? Use the auto track?

I have been and in fact did for this show, use wavelab to do it. I just thought cd wave would be easier. Maybe only for shows with more defined silence or gaps between songs?

FWIW, I love wavelab!

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11777
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2006, 11:48:12 PM »
no one uses the auto track. 
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6 II @ 32/48

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

https://archive.org/details/teamdirtysouth

Offline Gedit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 476
  • Gender: Male
    • It's Live From
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2006, 11:51:23 PM »
i usually find myself tracking songs with no breaks between songs .. seamless segues.
24-track mobile audio and video production
Onyx 1640 > Alesis HD24
----------------------------------------------------------------
It's Live From
Taking Live Performance to the Next Level
http://www.itslivefrom.com
gewing@radiodial.org

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40690
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2006, 06:35:20 AM »
i use it manually for every show/set ive ever tracked and couldnt be happier ;D

not fully back yet, i just check my PM/emails before work everyday
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250|0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v|Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline Sterling

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 625
  • Gender: Male
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2006, 08:53:35 AM »
no one uses the auto track. 

O.  :-[ I'm a dope.

Well than I think wavelab is just as easy myself... at least at this point until I can fool around with cd wave some more.

Offline rowjimmy

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2172
  • Gender: Male
  • rowjimmy.com
    • Row Knows
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2006, 08:58:41 AM »
I've always used CDWave manually for tracking as well. No SBEs out-of the box, and now... direct flac encoding...
It's like a little slice of heaven.
@rowj | Host of The Brokedown Podcast
Superlux SMK-H8K/H/U > KindKables Black Stealths > Busman T-Mod FR2LE

Offline dmonterisi

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 11952
  • Gender: Male
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re: CD Wave Editor Question
« Reply #14 on: January 26, 2006, 10:02:16 AM »
no one uses the auto track. 

O.  :-[ I'm a dope.

Well than I think wavelab is just as easy myself... at least at this point until I can fool around with cd wave some more.

fyi, another reason you may want to work with cdwav some more is the ability to export directly to flac.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.059 seconds with 38 queries.
© 2002-2024 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF