Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: ISO Advice on Tascam DR2D after First Field Attempt  (Read 3131 times)

Offline symoka01

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
ISO Advice on Tascam DR2D after First Field Attempt
« on: June 22, 2013, 01:09:56 AM »
Heyo,

Recently picked up Tascam DR2D (upgrade from 7 year old original run Microtrack 24/96).  I pulled many fantastic tapes using the 1/4" inputs and was disappointed with the result of my first pull with the DR2D.  Looking for pointers where I may have messed up, I read quite a bit before trying in the field so hoping for personalized advice.  Please note, this is my first attempt at pulling 4 channels so a little tough with the mic setup could be a partial factor (mics worn lower than normal...but still pretty clear view at stacks).

Gear:
AT853 > Denecke PS-2 > Line in (level at 97) - DR2D (24/96)
CSSC > CS BB > Mic in (level at 67) - DR2D (24/96)
Location: 10 feet from stage LOC - two decent raised speakers and 3 big stage monitors
Type of show: Hip Hop - pretty thick bass
*Mostly stealth situations - trying to run 4 sources

Issues:
Both sources came in extremely low level - AT853 (level 97 line in averages -29.3db) & CSSC (67 mic in averages -38db)
Both Files looks extremely compressed compared what I'm used to with the MT (could be that the levels are simply too low to be effective on the display)
Bass from the AT source sounds more boomy and distorted than I like (have had overloads before at crazy loud shows with the MT but not like the waffling I heard on the Tascam)

Additional Observations:
*Thought I had the -6db backup file enabled but files did not happen - this option is available when pulling from both mic and line in, right? Any chance this was applied to the mic in CSSC or did I simply run levels too low at 67?