Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: portable recorder for rehearsal duties  (Read 2656 times)

Offline ampetrosillo

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
portable recorder for rehearsal duties
« on: May 05, 2014, 01:35:02 AM »
Hello everyone! Newbie here. I'm Adriano ("Hi, Adriano!") and I drink... haha, OK, seriously, I'm a musician, amateur sound engineer (I've produced a self-produced album and a few demos, so not exactly Alan Parsons material), I'm an electrical engineering student and yadda yadda yadda... So!

Let me start by saying that this request is not for multitrack recording with external microphones, as I'm currently rehearsing in temporary arrangements, so there isn't much time or reason to adopt proper recording equipment just for sketches. I need convenience at the moment, so I'm only considering all-in-one solutions. I'd also like it to use to record band performances in live clubs though, either through the soundboard or through the internal mikes (or both, ideally).
I've narrowed it down to:

- Zoom H2n (before you start yelling at me, read on :D )
- Tascam DR-05
- Sony PCM-M10

I'm considering these three recorders as my priority is to record rehearsals so I need wide pickup patterns (directional stereo - be it XY, ORTF or AB - won't cut it, when the band's arranged in a semicircle or a circle, as it's often the case in cramped, crowded rooms).