Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS  (Read 8892 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheMetalist

  • (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 353
  • Sverige/Sweden/Suède
The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« on: October 28, 2016, 03:55:42 PM »
Today I received my new gear from Nick, Nbob actives for AKG CK6x capsules and...

The new version of Nbox Platinum with a nice and sturdy plastic case.

Hopefully it will pass through (maybe not the most effective but some) metal detectors. This is definately longed for by some stealth tapers (including myself).  :coolguy:





"The music is your passport - Your magic key - To all the madness that awaits you." B.L. '86

Offline robeti

  • (38)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 770
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2016, 10:34:44 AM »
Looks great!
mics: schoeps mk41 (matched) | nakamichi cm-300 (JB mod/cp1/cp2/cp3) | nakamichi cm-50 | primo em4052pmi4's | sp-cmc-4u/at-853 4.7k mod (shotguns/h/c/sc/) | ca-11 c/o
power: ca-ubb | ca-9200 | nbob actives > baby nbox 
recorder: roland r-05 
video: panasonic zs100 | panasonic hdc-sd600 | sony hx9v | sony hx50v

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • (56)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 5681
  • Gender: Male
  • Maplewood, MN
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2016, 11:23:33 AM »
Looking good!  Are the dimensions of the new ABS plastic Nbox identical to the metal Nbox dimensions?

hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

Offline TheMetalist

  • (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 353
  • Sverige/Sweden/Suède
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2016, 01:01:27 PM »
Looking good!  Are the dimensions of the new ABS plastic Nbox identical to the metal Nbox dimensions?


I don't have the regular Platinum but Nick said the dimensions are the same. Looking at the components inside the case I don't think it's possible to shrink the size without removing some components.

Here's the size of the ABS:
4.7x3.5x1.4 in (12x9x3,5 cm)
"The music is your passport - Your magic key - To all the madness that awaits you." B.L. '86

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • (56)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 5681
  • Gender: Male
  • Maplewood, MN
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2016, 01:56:45 PM »
^
Thank you!
hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

Offline larrysellers

  • (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2152
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2016, 02:00:57 PM »
Cool stuff indeed. I still prefer the metal case for walking to my car from the venue in a shitty neighborhood at night. Getting hit in the head with the original (full of 9v batteries) will quickly change the priorities of any assailant.

Online tim in jersey

  • Site Supporter
  • (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3656
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2016, 05:00:39 PM »
The grey Kangol will prevent such attacks, my friend. They'll be laughing too hard...  :lol:

Offline larrysellers

  • (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2152
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2016, 05:09:12 PM »
Touché

Offline edtyre

  • (84)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2252
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Philly " No Excuses, Just Tapes"
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2016, 07:24:59 PM »
The grey Kangol will prevent such attacks, my friend. They'll be laughing too hard...  :lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol:
music>mics>pre>recorder

Offline swordfish

  • (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 352
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2016, 12:40:15 PM »
I thought I have seen a picture of the new Baby Nbox but I can't find it with the search function....If I am recalling it correct Edtyre posted the picture...

Offline larrysellers

  • (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2152
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2016, 12:42:26 PM »
I thought I have seen a picture of the new Baby Nbox but I can't find it with the search function....If I am recalling it correct Edtyre posted the picture...

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=168809.msg2203684#msg2203684

Offline swordfish

  • (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 352
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2016, 04:47:05 AM »
I thought I have seen a picture of the new Baby Nbox but I can't find it with the search function....If I am recalling it correct Edtyre posted the picture...

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=168809.msg2203684#msg2203684
Thanks

Offline DavidPuddy

  • (14)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1190
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2020, 10:41:34 AM »
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.
Schoeps mk41 > CMC1L > Mixpre 6ii

Offline jerryfreak

  • No PZ
  • (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 6206
  • The plural of anecdote is not data
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2020, 11:35:26 AM »
The grey Kangol will prevent such attacks, my friend. They'll be laughing too hard...  :lol:
im picturing a ‘pimp of the year’ scene
currently "banned" for this "controversial" post
email me if you need to connect, as i am not allowed to send PM

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
for sale (email in profile):
Mixpre6 v1 (NIB)
CA14 cards
(2) Manfrotto 099B mic poles

---------------
(1) Phish LA Forum tapers ticket

Offline daspyknows

  • Complaint Dept.
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8143
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't ask, don't tell, don't get get caught
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2020, 11:37:13 AM »
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

Never have.  Bring mics, recorder and headphones if you have any concerns.  I have carried mine through SFO, LAX, JFK, McCarron in LV, Logan in Boston, Heathrow in London and never gotten a second look.  My old RBox on the other hand caught their eye every time.

Offline Craig T

  • (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4285
    • LMA
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2020, 11:41:06 AM »
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

I've never had a problem, but they may pull it aside and swab it.
Schoeps cmc6/4v / Line Audio CM3, OM1 / ADK A51 / Church Audio CA-14
Naiant Tinybox v2.2 / NBox(P) / Apogee Mini-MP / Church Audio ST9200 / CA-UGLY
Sony PCM-M10 / Tascam DR-70D

Offline ero3030

  • (59)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1593
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2020, 01:10:56 PM »
 8)we'd
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

I've never had a problem, but they may pull it aside and swab it.
Yep, always give mine a swab.  And me too as I look shady!!
needin some fishhead music!

" known for f**king up a good weekend on a Thursday nite "

Offline guitard

  • (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3440
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2021, 10:39:13 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.
Mics: Schoeps MK41s
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline beatkilla

  • (63)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1968
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2021, 06:57:44 PM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?



Offline daspyknows

  • Complaint Dept.
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8143
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't ask, don't tell, don't get get caught
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2021, 08:56:28 PM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

+1

Offline guitard

  • (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3440
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #20 on: November 18, 2021, 09:29:37 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.
Mics: Schoeps MK41s
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Online tim in jersey

  • Site Supporter
  • (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3656
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2021, 10:33:32 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Did the opposite recently. Plugged my baby-N into line in on M-10 instead of mic in. Low levels but still a nice recording...

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.

Offline willndmb

  • (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6789
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #22 on: November 18, 2021, 11:00:50 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?
for the win, same thing happened to me this year.
Luck fellow taper Greg saved me.

Anyway, lots of early posts about passing a metal detector and hopes it would.
Has anyone tried and confirm experiences?
With more and more venues here going to walk through, followed by wand curious what will and will not pass.
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline guitard

  • (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3440
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #23 on: November 18, 2021, 12:01:01 PM »
Anyway, lots of early posts about passing a metal detector and hopes it would.
Has anyone tried and confirm experiences?
With more and more venues here going to walk through, followed by wand curious what will and will not pass.

I responded via PM.
Mics: Schoeps MK41s
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline DavidPuddy

  • (14)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1190
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2021, 01:54:57 PM »
With the baby nbox, I've always gone audio in on A-10 for lo-pro. Mic in from the section, of course
Schoeps mk41 > CMC1L > Mixpre 6ii

Offline daspyknows

  • Complaint Dept.
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8143
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't ask, don't tell, don't get get caught
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #25 on: November 18, 2021, 03:19:45 PM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?


We are all making mistakes after being on the bench for ages.  Hopefully you solved this one.
Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.084 seconds with 49 queries.
© 2002-2021 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF