Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS  (Read 9192 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Craig T

  • (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4285
    • LMA
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2020, 11:41:06 AM »
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

I've never had a problem, but they may pull it aside and swab it.
Schoeps cmc6/4v / Line Audio CM3, OM1 / ADK A51 / Church Audio CA-14
Naiant Tinybox v2.2 / NBox(P) / Apogee Mini-MP / Church Audio ST9200 / CA-UGLY
Sony PCM-M10 / Tascam DR-70D

Offline ero3030

  • (59)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1593
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2020, 01:10:56 PM »
 8)we'd
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

I've never had a problem, but they may pull it aside and swab it.
Yep, always give mine a swab.  And me too as I look shady!!
needin some fishhead music!

" known for f**king up a good weekend on a Thursday nite "

Offline guitard

  • (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3443
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2021, 10:39:13 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.
Mics: Schoeps MK41s
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline beatkilla

  • (63)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1969
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2021, 06:57:44 PM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?



Offline daspyknows

  • Complaint Dept.
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8151
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't ask, don't tell, don't get get caught
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2021, 08:56:28 PM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

+1

Offline guitard

  • (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3443
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #20 on: November 18, 2021, 09:29:37 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.
Mics: Schoeps MK41s
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline tim in jersey

  • Site Supporter
  • (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3657
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2021, 10:33:32 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Did the opposite recently. Plugged my baby-N into line in on M-10 instead of mic in. Low levels but still a nice recording...

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.

Offline willndmb

  • (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6789
  • Gender: Male
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #22 on: November 18, 2021, 11:00:50 AM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?
for the win, same thing happened to me this year.
Luck fellow taper Greg saved me.

Anyway, lots of early posts about passing a metal detector and hopes it would.
Has anyone tried and confirm experiences?
With more and more venues here going to walk through, followed by wand curious what will and will not pass.
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline guitard

  • (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3443
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #23 on: November 18, 2021, 12:01:01 PM »
Anyway, lots of early posts about passing a metal detector and hopes it would.
Has anyone tried and confirm experiences?
With more and more venues here going to walk through, followed by wand curious what will and will not pass.

I responded via PM.
Mics: Schoeps MK41s
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline DavidPuddy

  • (14)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1192
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2021, 01:54:57 PM »
With the baby nbox, I've always gone audio in on A-10 for lo-pro. Mic in from the section, of course
mk41/mk22 > CMC1L > Mixpre 6ii

Offline daspyknows

  • Complaint Dept.
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8151
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't ask, don't tell, don't get get caught
Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
« Reply #25 on: November 18, 2021, 03:19:45 PM »
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?


We are all making mistakes after being on the bench for ages.  Hopefully you solved this one.
Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.051 seconds with 34 queries.
© 2002-2021 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF