Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)  (Read 64857 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline voltronic

  • (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3425
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #405 on: September 02, 2021, 09:27:18 PM »

Bumping this post for the people in the market for a new deck. The F6 can now truly be considered a professional recorder with the latest firmware, and IMHO it represents a much better value than the SD MixPre-II recorders. The only thing the MPII's have the advantage in is accepting a hotter input level, which in practice will not be an issue unless you are feeding it VERY hot line levels or recording very loud sources with extremely sensitive mics.

You won't be disappointed with one of these.

So I've been looking at this deck as an upgrade to a tascam 70D...what would be the benefits in favor for the F6 over the 70D that would justify the cost? I only require max 4 channels max at a top end of 24/48 as a field recorder. Thanks. Chris K.

As someone who used to own the DR-70D, I can tell you the F6 is a huge upgrade in every aspect. The preamps of the F6 are far more transparent, much lower noise, the build quality is much higher, 6 XLR inputs instead of 4, more versatile powering options, timecode, etc. The "killer feature" is the 32-bit FP recording with multiple ADCs, so you never need to set levels or worry about limiters (in 99% of applications). Whether or not all that is worth the price depends on what you are recording.

For me, I only do acoustic / classical ensembles; very limited PA if at all. Mostly choirs, piano, and small instrumental groups, but sometimes orchestras and concert bands also. The preamps make a very noticeable difference for me, but it's the multi-ADC / 32FP end of things that makes my life so much easier. Most of the music I record has a very wide dynamic range, and I sometimes am not able to set levels ahead of time at a rehearsal. I am very often performing or conducting the things I record, making this even more reassuring. On the 70D, I would deal with this by recording a second set of safety tracks at -12 dB, but then that would limit me to 2-channel recording. Limiters (especially the type used on the 70D) sound awful for the type of music I record so that's a no-go. No need to worry about any of that with the F6.

If you are recording loud, amplified concerts and do not need more than 4 mic inputs then there probably isn't much reason to move on from your 70D. It's a solid deck.
DPA 4061 ~ Line Audio CM3 ~ Naiant X-Q ~ AT 853  |  Naiant PFAs ~ Shure FP24  |  Zoom F6 ~ Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 ~ KRK Rokit RP5 ~ Sennheiser HD 650 ~ Etymotic ER4XR

Team Line Audio

Offline edsunman

  • (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #406 on: September 14, 2021, 10:35:37 AM »
Hi guys, I hope this is the right place on the forum for this...

I've just recently noticed a problem with my F6 not switching between Line and Mic level on the first 3 inputs. I've installed latest firmware and performed factory reset but no change.

Here is and example of the problem : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEIl7LL-Zyk

The problem persists in both 24 bit and 32 bit modes.

Can anyone work out what is going on? Have I missed an obvious setting or is the device faulty? Thanks in advance for any help!

Offline voltronic

  • (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3425
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #407 on: September 14, 2021, 09:32:26 PM »
Hi guys, I hope this is the right place on the forum for this...

I've just recently noticed a problem with my F6 not switching between Line and Mic level on the first 3 inputs. I've installed latest firmware and performed factory reset but no change.

Here is and example of the problem : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEIl7LL-Zyk

The problem persists in both 24 bit and 32 bit modes.

Can anyone work out what is going on? Have I missed an obvious setting or is the device faulty? Thanks in advance for any help!

That is really strange. I'm out for a few days, but maybe this weekend I'll hook up a line source to mine and see if I can replicate the issue. Hopefully Zoom support has some advice for you.
DPA 4061 ~ Line Audio CM3 ~ Naiant X-Q ~ AT 853  |  Naiant PFAs ~ Shure FP24  |  Zoom F6 ~ Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 ~ KRK Rokit RP5 ~ Sennheiser HD 650 ~ Etymotic ER4XR

Team Line Audio

Offline voltronic

  • (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3425
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #408 on: September 19, 2021, 10:09:20 AM »
Anyone having trouble with the date and time not being retained during power off? I have noticed this to be an issue since the 1.70 firmware update, but it's possible it was there beforehand.

I have fully charged AA's internal and fully charged NP batteries mounted, and it still prompts me to reset the date and time at each power up. All other settings I have made are retained.

I sent a support email to Zoom, but in the meantime I was wondering if anyone else has seen this issue.
DPA 4061 ~ Line Audio CM3 ~ Naiant X-Q ~ AT 853  |  Naiant PFAs ~ Shure FP24  |  Zoom F6 ~ Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 ~ KRK Rokit RP5 ~ Sennheiser HD 650 ~ Etymotic ER4XR

Team Line Audio

Offline voltronic

  • (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3425
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #409 on: September 20, 2021, 07:52:07 PM »
Anyone having trouble with the date and time not being retained during power off? I have noticed this to be an issue since the 1.70 firmware update, but it's possible it was there beforehand.

I have fully charged AA's internal and fully charged NP batteries mounted, and it still prompts me to reset the date and time at each power up. All other settings I have made are retained.

I sent a support email to Zoom, but in the meantime I was wondering if anyone else has seen this issue.

Response from Zoom customer support:

Quote
I would recommend plugging your device with the AC adapter and powering it ON. Once this is done, leave it like this overnight.

This should resolve the issue you are experiencing.

We will see what happens.
DPA 4061 ~ Line Audio CM3 ~ Naiant X-Q ~ AT 853  |  Naiant PFAs ~ Shure FP24  |  Zoom F6 ~ Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 ~ KRK Rokit RP5 ~ Sennheiser HD 650 ~ Etymotic ER4XR

Team Line Audio

Offline voltronic

  • (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3425
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #410 on: September 23, 2021, 05:31:39 PM »
^ Rep's advice worked. All good.
DPA 4061 ~ Line Audio CM3 ~ Naiant X-Q ~ AT 853  |  Naiant PFAs ~ Shure FP24  |  Zoom F6 ~ Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 ~ KRK Rokit RP5 ~ Sennheiser HD 650 ~ Etymotic ER4XR

Team Line Audio

Offline Karl

  • (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 377
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #411 on: October 06, 2021, 10:09:26 PM »
OK, here are my test results from RMAA with both the 1.50 and 1.70 firmware.

- RMAA generated a 32-bit FP / 192 kHz test file
- Connected MOTU M2 line out to F6 channels 1&2 with balanced TRS>XLR patch cables
- M2 output level set to max
- Played test file in Foobar while recording on F6 at 32-bit float / 192 kHz
- Recorded file from F6 transferred to PC and analyzed in RMAA to generate report
- These tests were NOT done in the same sitting, but conditions were identical


When looking at the Frequency Response data, make sure you scroll down to compare the 20 Hz - 20 kHz numbers in both documents, and not just the 40 Hz - 15 kHz numbers.

I find it curious that the noise floor in the new firmware is a bit higher, when performance is otherwise improved in other areas, especially the LF noise. I suppose there are always tradeoffs when choosing filters.
PDF files are below.

F6 1.50
F6 1.70

Bumping this post for the people in the market for a new deck. The F6 can now truly be considered a professional recorder with the latest firmware, and IMHO it represents a much better value than the SD MixPre-II recorders. The only thing the MPII's have the advantage in is accepting a hotter input level, which in practice will not be an issue unless you are feeding it VERY hot line levels or recording very loud sources with extremely sensitive mics.

You won't be disappointed with one of these.

Thank you for your work on this! Good stuff!

I was also having the date/time issue. Good to know as well.
My portable rig:

AT853>Zoom F6

Offline voltronic

  • (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3425
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #412 on: October 07, 2021, 08:55:26 PM »
I was also having the date/time issue. Good to know as well.

There must be some sort of rechargeable battery on the main board that keeps the clock running, like a CMOS battery on a PC. I would have thought it would replenish as needed from internal AAs or the NP batteries, but apparently it only recharges from USB.

My earlier comment about all the other settings being retained now makes sense in retrospect: Those settings are not stored in internal memory, but in a file on the SD card.
DPA 4061 ~ Line Audio CM3 ~ Naiant X-Q ~ AT 853  |  Naiant PFAs ~ Shure FP24  |  Zoom F6 ~ Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 ~ KRK Rokit RP5 ~ Sennheiser HD 650 ~ Etymotic ER4XR

Team Line Audio

Offline Karl

  • (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 377
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #413 on: October 08, 2021, 11:20:25 AM »
Yep! Or more likely a capacitor that needs to be refilled every so often. It would be nice to know how long it needs to be on when powering from USB (more specific than "overnight!"). And how long it should last before being refilled again.
My portable rig:

AT853>Zoom F6

Offline morst

  • Trade Unionist
  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4781
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #414 on: October 08, 2021, 02:29:48 PM »

Sony PCM-M10 does the same thing if you leave it powered off for a year or more!
The internal clock won't stay set until you leave it powered up for a while.



Anyone having trouble with the date and time not being retained during power off? I have noticed this to be an issue since the 1.70 firmware update, but it's possible it was there beforehand.

I have fully charged AA's internal and fully charged NP batteries mounted, and it still prompts me to reset the date and time at each power up. All other settings I have made are retained.

I sent a support email to Zoom, but in the meantime I was wondering if anyone else has seen this issue.

Response from Zoom customer support:

Quote
I would recommend plugging your device with the AC adapter and powering it ON. Once this is done, leave it like this overnight.

This should resolve the issue you are experiencing.

We will see what happens.

Offline voltronic

  • (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3425
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #415 on: October 09, 2021, 08:42:36 AM »
Yep! Or more likely a capacitor that needs to be refilled every so often. It would be nice to know how long it needs to be on when powering from USB (more specific than "overnight!"). And how long it should last before being refilled again.

Funny how this wasn't an issue at all until the pandemic and I had no concerts to record for over a year. I always leave my SD card in my unit, and connect the F6 to my PC to transfer files after a concert. Perhaps those brief periods of connection to USB were enough to charge the battery or capacitor. When I had no recordings to transfer, I had no reason to connect the F6 for long periods of time.
DPA 4061 ~ Line Audio CM3 ~ Naiant X-Q ~ AT 853  |  Naiant PFAs ~ Shure FP24  |  Zoom F6 ~ Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 ~ KRK Rokit RP5 ~ Sennheiser HD 650 ~ Etymotic ER4XR

Team Line Audio

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.046 seconds with 34 queries.
© 2002-2021 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF