Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Recommendation for board recordings/band on the road  (Read 2928 times)

Offline barthatronic

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • I am a scientist.
    • GbV
Recommendation for board recordings/band on the road
« on: December 26, 2005, 10:05:03 AM »
Hello. I'm looking for a hardware recommendation for my cousin's band, The Impossible Shapes. They're leaving on tour in February and I'd like to set them up with an audio recording device (I'm keeping this very broad) to record their live shows, mostly from SBD.

I have experience with the JB3 and that's the right price range as well (relatively cheap) -- I'm looking to set him up for under $200. I'd like to make this rig and setup as basic as possible with the highest probabilty for great sound. I haven't been monitoring these boards for a while and I'm wondering if there's a better setup than the JB3 now. Any ideas or recommendations? What will I need beyond the recording device to make this work well? What should I expect to pay? I'm really looking (once again) to the resources of this board for some help. Thanks in advance for your help...
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
SP-CMC-2  >  SP-SPSB-6  >  JB3

Offline svenkid

• Needs to get out more...
  • Take Time to Listen!
Re: Recommendation for board recordings/band on the road
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2005, 02:55:42 PM »
probably get a set of rca to mini 1/8th

sbd on the ground could be tricky, new boards each nite, new sound guys that hopefully know what theyre doing.
Seriously, the band makes the music. Tapers just point mics in the right direction and hit "record".

That's good to hear!  The last patcher I had complained about my AKGs, fluffed schoeps for about 15 minutes, stayed patched in, and farted on me all night long.
rig: Neuman u89s > Lunatec V3 > MT(24)/JB3(16)
http://db.etree.org/svenkid