Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Edirol R-09 Sound Quality for Interviews, HELP! I'm a Newbie!  (Read 2292 times)

Offline Bardy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
I am trying to decide what to buy for CD Marketing Production.  Interviews, then add intro and outro with music under and edit in Audacity.  I am concerned about the Edirol R-09 internal mics being good enough for reproduction quality.  1000 copies are made and people listen on home or car stereo systems.  Can anybody help me?  Suggest another or which external mic to buy to use with this one?  It's gotta sound good folks!  I have read alot about the hissing being heard when recording soft sound, like interviews, but no problems with music.  I  DO NOT RECORD MUSIC!  Just voices talking.  HELP!  LOST IN DIGITAL LAND! (I was a DJ in analog days)
Thanks!  Bardy

Offline youngsbest

• Taperssection Newbie
Re: Edirol R-09 Sound Quality for Interviews, HELP! I'm a Newbie!
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2007, 04:16:28 AM »
I use the RO9 for market research interviews and it's absolutley fine.  I set it to acg, high gain and it sounds great with the internal mics.  No issues with hiss; picks up voices very clearly.  The only issues I have are when doing street interviews in bright sunshine, and it's hard to see the screen.  I have it sticking out of my shirt pocket and it records the interviewee perfectly.

Offline guysonic

• Taperssection All-Star
  • WISDOM FOR ALL TIMES
    • Sonic Studios DSM Stereo-Surround Microphone Systems
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2007, 04:50:37 AM »
Wouldn't hurt to try R-09 internal mics to see if this works well enough for requirements.  If finding this too noisy, or handling noise of deck using the internal mics is too awkward or wanting a mic with wind noise protection, then external preamp/mic into R-09 will certainly work for most critical of requirements.