Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: equipment to record live shows  (Read 4431 times)

Offline vansmack

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • I'm a llama!
equipment to record live shows
« on: November 20, 2003, 10:42:24 PM »
Sorry guys but I'm a total newbie with taping. I got to at least 10 concerts a year and would like to start taping them. What equipment would i need for a good sounding show? I'm hoping to spend 400.00 or less.  Any help would be gratly appreciated.  --Bill

Offline Fatah Ruark (aka MIKE B)

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • I dream in beige.
    • sloppy.art.ink
Re:equipment to record live shows
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2003, 01:23:54 AM »
Sorry guys but I'm a total newbie with taping. I got to at least 10 concerts a year and would like to start taping them. What equipment would i need for a good sounding show? I'm hoping to spend 400.00 or less.  Any help would be gratly appreciated.  --Bill

This is the best setup I could think of (off the top of my head) for AROUND $400.

1. Creative Nomad Jukebox 3 (20GB). You can get a refurbished unit on eBay for about $200 shipped. Better add the 2nd battery if you plan on taping longer shows($40).
2. Core Sound Binaural mics (the regular version, NOT the cheapies). These are about $230 from www.core-sound.com

MIKE B
||| MICS:  Beyer CK930 | DPA 4022 | DPA 4080 | Nevaton MCE400 | Sennheiser Ambeo Headset |||
||| PREAMPS: DPA d:vice | Naiant Tinybox | Naiant IPA |||
||| DECKS: Sound Devices MixPre6 | iPod Touch 32GB |||
|||Concert History || LMA Recordings || Live YouTube |||

Offline Sean Gallemore

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2003, 03:11:52 AM »
plus a sound card with firewire

Offline sexymexi

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
    • show list
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2003, 03:24:34 AM »