Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: any laptop tapers here..??a few questions  (Read 2422 times)

Offline bigwurock

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
any laptop tapers here..??a few questions
« on: December 17, 2005, 12:34:38 PM »
well it seems i have come across an older laptop..does anyone use a laptop for recording..if so can you tell what i need in a laptop to record..
how much memory, what program, ect....also what do you use for a mic input...right now i have different types of microphones that have a mini plug in that i used for my D-7..which died..??..i never have had the chance to see anyone record with one..seen them around but never got the chance to check them out...so if you can help a complete noobie with any help that would be great!

Offline TNJazz

• Ninja
  • Trade Count: (44)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • "Those who know, know."
    • NINJA DYNAMITE
Re: any laptop tapers here..??a few questions
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2005, 04:22:16 PM »
Just about anything will work.  I'd recommend at minimum a 500mhz Pentium or equivalent, and 256 mb RAM.  For a basic interface, try a USB one.  They're easy to use and decent enough to start with.  There are high end ones of course, but something like the M-Audio or Edirol pigtail connectors will probably work (since it sounds like your mic doesn't require phantom power).

I use a Fujitsu T70G, which is a 1ghz Pentium M with 1gb RAM and a VX Pocket 440 when I'm not multitracking with my 24 channel rig.  That rig I use a larger desktop replacement type laptop (Fujitsu E7110 Pentium M 2.2ghz with 512mb RAM)...

Not sure if any of this info is all that helpful.  Feel free to PM me if you want more detailed info and additional assistance.
Dirk
Check out my band!  --> http://www.ninjadynamite.com

Offline johnw

• Trade Count: (11)
    • My cd List
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2005, 05:32:54 PM »