Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: ideas to improve my taping gear / sound please  (Read 10971 times)

Offline trevtdogg

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
ideas to improve my taping gear / sound please
« on: October 03, 2011, 07:09:18 AM »
Hey all,

I've been doing very amateur taping of gigs since about 2000, mostly with MD / HiMD / iriver H340 and a sony ecm-ms907.  Started off mostly stealthing other bands and my own demos at home, now mostly taping my bands shows for the LMA:

http://www.archive.org/details/Charm

but i've been meaning to update my setup for a while, and don't have as much time to research things as i used to.  so i'm looking for the quick easy answer from you all to help :)

only 1 show up there is a sbd, rest are the sony 907 mic going into either the iriver h340 or the sony mz-nh1.  i usually run the mic into the h340, and the use the nh1 for a sbd grab.  keep em both for future matrix mixes or whatever.  the mic is usually near the sound board, normally up high if i can and with the 120 degree selector on.  some shows i run it almost flat against a FOH stack in stead, or somewhere i think the guitar will carry and stand out as the sound guys normally keep the guitar too low in the mix for our taste!

listening to the recordings what would you suggest i do to improve the sound of the recordings?

i'm thinking of getting maybe the CA-14 omnis, and possibly upgrading to a sony pcm m-10.  if i went this way, would i need any other gear to either power the mics, or for gain, or for an adc if the on-board adc in the sony isn't that good?

last gig the h340 had a bit of skipping on the recording for the 1st time ever, bits of seconds went missing here and there over only about 30 secs of the recording, and i noticed when i pushed stop it was saying "warning"  something where the file name would be.

appreciate any suggestions and advice, cheers.

-trev.

Offline acidjack

• Site Supporter