Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: total newbie question (jb3 content)  (Read 6656 times)

Offline switters

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • I'm a llama!
total newbie question (jb3 content)
« on: October 23, 2003, 10:42:49 AM »
ok i have recently been getting the urge to start taping shows through patching.  In doing so, i have been led to two relatively cheaper way of starting.  One is taping via laptop, the other is using a JB3.  I was hoping that someone could possibly lead me to some of the pros and cons of each of these means of patching.  Thanks for any help!

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

• <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re:total newbie question (jb3 content)
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2003, 11:55:43 AM »
To patch out of your typical DAT chain, you'll need a Midiman CO2 or similar digital format convertor to use the NJ3.  

To do stand alone recording (your the only one there), you can go rca>min plug straight from the SBD>NJ3 no problems.

The NJ3 is a great device for the money.

If you already own a laptop, go with that...  

Terry

***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

Offline switters

• Taperssection Newbie
  • I'm a llama!
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2003, 12:02:06 PM »
thanks twatts...i do own a laptop...does a laptop produce better sound quality patches than a jukebox?

Offline Kindguy

• Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2003, 12:05:46 PM »
thanks twatts...i do own a laptop...does a laptop produce better sound quality patches than a jukebox?