Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: UA-5 optical connection possibly broken?  (Read 5192 times)

Offline Dutchman1101

• Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
UA-5 optical connection possibly broken?
« on: May 22, 2005, 05:48:57 PM »
First I must say I new to this and am a total newbie. I just noticed that there is a red light that illuminates from the optical out slot when the power is on. Is there supposed to be a light in the optical in too? Also this might be paranoia but the optical out slot looks different then the optical in slot. Is that like that on anyone else’s UA-5. Like I said before this one is a paranoia question, but I just bought this thing and I'm worried there might be something wrong. Now I must say I have tested this thing out a couple times and it has sounded fine. I would post pics but my digital camera is broken. Thanks in advance  :)
« Last Edit: May 22, 2005, 09:45:25 PM by Dutchman1101 »

Offline bhtoque

• Trade Count: (3)
  • So much music, so little time.
Re: UA-5 optical out/in light question
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2005, 06:05:49 PM »
The light is what carries the signal, and should only be from the out.

The jacks are the same, like you said you're paranoid.

Be sure to leave the little plastic plugs in the optical jacks when you are not using them. You don't want anything getting in there.

JAson
MG 200/210/270
AKG c422>s42>Hydra silver interconnects
AKG 391/92/93>MK 90/3 actives
>AM Hyper-Conductors
Studio Projects LSD2>MiAGi II
>Edirol R-4 (Oade T Mod)

db.etree.org/bhtoque

Offline Dutchman1101

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2005, 06:21:01 PM »
The jacks are the same, like you said you're paranoid.

JAson