Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Advice on recording setup with Church Audio ST11 Cardioid  (Read 2711 times)

Offline symfan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Advice on recording setup with Church Audio ST11 Cardioid
« on: May 06, 2008, 04:43:14 PM »
Today my new set of Church Cards arrived (yah!  ;D) and end of the month I'm going to use them for my first live recording with them. I want to get it right and some advice would be welcome. I've been taping gigs for about two years now, so I'm not completely new. But the cards are!

My gear: church ST-11 Cards - STC-9000 - iRiver H340.

Positioning
I'm going to record in a good sounding venue, with a capacity of 2.000 people. I'll be standing and I can choose my position.
Is it wise to place myself in front of a speaker stack or is center in front of the mixing desk a better position? And how far away would be a good spot? I know the venue and where it sounds good. But what is the best spot for these mics?

Mounting
Going for stealth so I'm mounting them on a dark cap. Or maybe on my glasses (but that is too visible, I think). On a cap should they be on the sides pointing a little left and right if I stand dead center? (so point them directly at the speakers?) Or would it be better to point them straight forward?
Makes it a lot of difference wether you put them under or on the cap?

Testing in advance
And is there a way to test the recording settings? I'd be disapointed it if the recording would be saturated or distorted. And I realise that with the mics mounted on a cap I can't be looking down at the recording level all the time. I can put on my stereo at home, but that comes no where near the volume during a real live gig.

A lot of questions, but I'm hoping on some advice here.
BTW the venue is the 013 theatre in the Netherlands, anyone with experience there on board?

Marcel
« Last Edit: May 06, 2008, 04:48:49 PM by symfan »

nameloc01