Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Recommendations for a musician please!  (Read 2007 times)

Offline psychedelic cowboy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • My Homepage
Recommendations for a musician please!
« on: October 01, 2007, 07:14:51 PM »
Howdy tapers,

It's time for me to upgrade my recording system and I'd love any insight or advice that you'd care to share.   

I've been using a Creative Labs Nomad C for the last several years to record my gigs.   I've been using a Behringer mixer to get the signal level from an AT 822 mic into the Nomad and I keep the internal gain bypassed.    My mixer has gone the way of the dodo but I still have the Nomad and the mic.   

The one big complaint that I've had with this system has been the setup time required.   Between the disc powering up and all the cabling required it's sometimes too much of a hassle to record myself, so I've been looking at some of the newer units that have built-in mics.   I'd still like to use the AT 822 on occasions when I can afford a longer setup time.   I've also considered just buying another sort of preamp to go with what I have now.   

I've been checking out the Zoom H2, the Korg MR-1, and R-09 and I just noticed the new Marantz PMD 620.   I'm curious about the built-in mics and preamps of these and any others that you can recommend.    I can spend up to about $500, although cheaper is always nice ;)    I'm always plugging in my guitar so battery power and battery life don't make much difference to me.   

The Korg looks kind of sweet but I'm not sure how I feel about the file type that it uses.   The Zoom looks great, especially because of the price...I figure even if I end up upgrading soon $200 doesn't hurt much.   

What I'd really like is something that has built-in mics and will sound decent and be easy and quick to set up when I'm in a hurry and will also sound great with an AT 822 when I'm not in a hurry.

Thanks,

John

Offline TNJazz