Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: What will be a better recording setup with the Zoom H2?  (Read 5415 times)

Offline bucsab12

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
What will be a better recording setup with the Zoom H2?
« on: September 20, 2009, 07:26:38 PM »
Hi everyone.

I am a beginner in recording and I have a question about a recording setup and I would love to hear some of your suggestions.

I own a Zoom H2. I have barely used it but still, the right channel on my Line In socket stopped working. There is a show I want to record this week so I don't have the time to send the Zoom back for a replacement and I will have to tape the show with what I have got.

At the beginning I thought I would record the show using external mics>battery box>Mic In socket (set on low) with plug in power turned off. I have already recorded one show using this setup after the right channel on my Line In socket fried and it was OK but nothing compared to the Line In socket.

My other option is to use the Line In socket and record only the left channel, for a better sound but a mono recording.

Please tell me which option do you think is better and regarding the second option, is it possible to record only the left channel and then to use some sound editing program so it will be also heard through the right channel and not only the left?

Thank you very much in advance

P.S.

Buy an edirol and save your money...
« Last Edit: September 20, 2009, 07:28:46 PM by bucsab12 »

Offline rhinowing

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • SPLRA - Smashing Pumpkins Live Recording Association
Re: What will be a better recording setup with the Zoom H2?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2009, 09:48:01 PM »
i'd go with the line-in. you can easily make it into two channels with audacity, which is a free program
Please contact me if you've ever taped the Smashing Pumpkins or a related group!

Offline bucsab12

• Taperssection Regular