Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Binaural with mini me  (Read 3256 times)

Offline Wildman

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • I'm a llama!
Binaural with mini me
« on: August 19, 2003, 07:03:00 PM »

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie to this forum(what a find), joined today and based in good old u.k.
I currently record live sound events to my sony mini disc via okm ii's (binaural mics). I am looking at purchasing the mini me and using this instead of my mini disc and recording straight to a laptop. Do you think I will get better results this way? Is it worth the investment. I hope also to use it with condenser mics in the studio as well. Any help you could give would be very much appreciated.

cheers

jpschust

Re:Binaural with mini me
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2003, 07:06:55 PM »
you will indeed, however i really would suggest upgrading your mics and spending less on your pre if thats all the budget you have- you can get a nice newer set of mics with a ua-5 for about the same amount

Offline Wildman

• Taperssection Newbie
  • I'm a llama!
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2003, 07:38:37 PM »
Hi

Thanks for the quick reply. Can u recommend any good binaural mics or mics for remote recording? Also, if you were to use the same high quality mic on the ua5 or the mini me, would their be a stark contrast in quality or would it be subtle.

cheers

Offline Wildman

• Taperssection Newbie
  • I'm a llama!
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2003, 09:00:55 PM »
Hi,

so is there a drastic difference between the mini me and ua5 with the same high quality mic? Can I download 2 examples ccomparing these units.

Any help appreciated.

Offline RRobar

• Mac Design Geek
  • Needs to get out more...
  • "It's allgood ....brah!"
    • Headway Graphixx
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2003, 10:33:23 PM »