Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Which Mic Would Be Best Suited?  (Read 1821 times)

Offline outrbanx

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Which Mic Would Be Best Suited?
« on: March 19, 2008, 07:54:58 AM »
Hello,

I do a lot of videography for local school choral concerts, as well as pageants and similar events. It has taken a while, but I have now learned that I can no longer trust a feed from the soundboard. I am now looking to use my own setup so that I have more control over my audio. From that standpoint, I am a newbie when it comes to mics.

I have been told that I would be better off using two small diaphragm cardoid mics in an x/y setup on a stand, much like the tapers here use (from what I have read and seen).

Can anyone here suggest a good starter mic to try this out? I have wavered between the Samson C02, Rode NT5, and Audio Technica AT3032.

I am trying to keep my budget under $300, but I am fully aware that you get what you pay for. The Samsons are cheap, so the only advantage to them is that I can also get a 100ft stage snake to aid set up and break down times, but are they really as bad as everyone says?

Are there any others that I have overlooked?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Offline outrbanx

• Taperssection Newbie
Re: Which Mic Would Be Best Suited?
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2008, 09:55:50 AM »
I am working with elementary, middle and high schools. With each being a different type of venue, hanging mics are probably out of the question. I've had good luck up to now using a sound board feed, but a few have proved to be unreliable and some schools now forbid any feeds.

Here is an example of the last show I taped where the feed was useless. It's not too bad, but the vocals dominate the band (moreso in the second song):
Check the bottom of the page for "Cosby Pyramid Concert":
http://www.magicalmemoriesproductions.com/videography_order.php