Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: My recordings sound muffled... any suggestions?  (Read 8738 times)

Offline Panthro10

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
My recordings sound muffled... any suggestions?
« on: June 01, 2009, 11:16:23 PM »
So I am new to taping. I think I have taped about 8 shows now, mostly of people I know in smaller venues. Usually rock shows.. And my recordings seem to sound muffled - that's the best word I can think of to describe how they sound to me. They don't sound bad, just not as clear and warm as I would like. Some of the recordings also sound distant to me, eventhough I am only like 20' from the stage and in the range of the sweet spot (assuming that is the point of the equilateral triangle formed by the stacks and the mics). I am running the busman bsc1 kit into a stock FR2LE with kindkables. I have tried different caps and setups. I have not broken out a ruler and protractor though.. I have heard other recordings on LMA made with this equipment that sound good to me. Right now my thoughts are that it's possibly the fr2le, maybe I would prefer the modded sound, maybe the Transparent mod or something. But I was wondering if anyone else has maybe had experience with this.. I guess I could post some samples sometime if someone thinks that would help. I also don't know much about the post-process. I have been using soundbooth. I basically open the 24/48 file, boost levels to 0db, and have tried normalizing and not normalizing, and using some compression or filters or whatever,  but nothing seems to really bring out the sound I would like. So I typically just get the peaks to about 0db and leave it alone.

I just have really not been that happy with anything I've done so far, and kind of don't know what to do at this point...

Any thoughts/suggestions?
Busman BSC1 > v3 > r44

Offline boojum

• Needs to get out more...
Re: My recordings sound muffled... any suggestions?