Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tapping the TSKB: Mini dv tapes - what to buy?  (Read 2540 times)

Offline thoman8r

• Proud member of the reality-based community
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Let's go Pens!
Tapping the TSKB: Mini dv tapes - what to buy?
« on: June 23, 2008, 11:32:46 AM »
So I just got a Canon HV-30 1080i camcorder and need to purchase some mini dv tapes for it.  Before I place the order, I was hoping someone hear has some expert advice on which tapes are best.  Being a DAT veteran, I am all too aware that choosing a digital tape that will not give you load/unload or other problems is crucial.  So what do you guys think?
"No. Don't call me a hero. Do you know who the real heroes are? The guys who wake up every morning and go in their normal jobs and get a distress call from the commissioner and take off their glasses and change into capes and fly around fighting crime. Those are the real heroes."
- Dwight Schrute

Offline Josh

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
Re: Tapping the TSKB: Mini dv tapes - what to buy?
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2008, 12:12:28 PM »
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-DVM36HD-MiniDV-Minute-Definition/dp/B0006IWQ4E/ref=pd_sim_e_3

those are the best around IMO and probably one of the better prices you'll find.  i was getting them for about 7.25/per tape last winter but prices have gone up about a buck per since then. 

i have an HV20 and shot about 30 hrs last winter in west africa with no problems.  footage turned out great.

my buddy who is a pro videographer also swears by the Sony tapes for HD shooting.

AKG 481/3>bumblebee Miagis>V3>jb3

Offline willndmb

• Trade Count: (17)
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2008, 01:25:15 PM »
i have read a few times (including here) that "normal" minidv tapes are the exact same as hd ones
not sure if its true but you might want to look into it
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2