Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: super newb, first recording setup  (Read 4582 times)

Offline atxwolfattack

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
super newb, first recording setup
« on: December 31, 2006, 02:15:27 AM »
hey everyone, i know that there are probably so many people that make posts and dont know what the hell they are talking about, and I am probably one of them. I am 18 years old, live in Austin, TX, and for the past year or so, i keep having this urge to buy a little stealth setup and go record all the shows i go to. I will spend days doing research, get all excited, then realize "wow, i really don't know what i am doing, maybe i should just leave it to someone else to record the shows and then i search for it online"... But i have finally decided that i am going to invest in a little setup to record shows.

I am a college student with not a ton of money, so i can't just go all out. From what i have been reading, and what seems to be in my price range, i have narrowed it down to 3 devices.. The M-Audio MicroTrack, Edirol R-09, and the Zoom H4. I really don't know what the big differences between them. They all seem to be good picks from what I have read.

I have no earthly idea about mic's.

I mostly go to a bit louder shows, lets just say "Sonic Youth" type music, just to put it into perspective. Maybe not always that loud, but that would be the extreme, but i also will be recording some softer stuff, maybe even totally acoustic performances.
I would really appreciate it if someone could maybe help me out with picking out a good, fairly inexpensive stealth setup for recording shows? South By Southwest is in a few months, and I have a few friends that are coming into town to play shows, and my goal is to use these 3 months practicing recordings shows so i will be able to successfully record their shows.

Thanks a bunch!

Josh

Offline sygdwm

• unknown sleath taper
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...