Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: audiofile-engineering wave editor  (Read 47595 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline macdaddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7657
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #75 on: December 19, 2012, 03:49:48 PM »
and finally...
-macdaddy ++

akg c422 > s42 > lunatec v2 > ad2k+ > roland r-44

Offline bhoy

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 140
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #76 on: December 22, 2012, 08:17:44 PM »
-Sam and Macdaddy -

Could you guys give me a few pointers to get me moving along here in Triumph? After I get the procedure down, I will document it and pass it on to others.
Basically, I'd like to load my 24/96 wav file of a show, put in track markers, normalize/adjust channel gains, eq it slightly, and then export to 16/44.1 and 24/96.

Here's where I am at:
I start a new project and get a Master Layer.  I then import my wav file as an asset.  It shows up under the master layer.  I then see the "Overview" and then the waveform below it, showing me Left and Right channel.

I need to balance the channels by adding gain to the Left.  Yet, I can't see a clear way to do this.  Nor can I find a normalize anywhere.  I'm guessing I need to add an effect to the asset?  But how can I apply it to just one channel?  What am I missing?  What if I wanted to zoom in to reduce clapping peaks?  I see how to zoom in, but is there an easy way to reduce the gain of a portion of the wav?

Ok, moving on to tracking.  I see a "Labels" section.  Under there I see all types of labels.  Which one do I want to slice up a large wav file?  Will a "marker" do it, or perhaps I need a "Track" ?  I see how to drop these onto my wav file, and then to the right I can provide text for each one.  I'm currently adding "Markers"

I'll stop my questions there because I realize I'm asking a lot!  But again, I will document the procedure so others can follow it after. Your time won't be wasted!

Thanks,
Bill

Offline -sam

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1056
  • Gender: Male
  • that goes double for you buddy
    • slincoln.org
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #77 on: December 24, 2012, 04:34:51 PM »
I've never fiddled with just one channel, so I can't help you there, but you can find change gain and normalize under the "actions" tab, in the processes section.

Markers or tracks will work fine.  I like to use Markers because you need to know the start and end point of a track.  I created a custom action for rendering markers to 24 bit files, since there isn't one by default.  Just make a new action and paste this in (the script is a quick modification of the marker to 16 bit render).  A more clever person than I could probably figure out a way to include a resample into this for the 16 bit script.  You could alternately have the script render directly to flac, but I like to use xACT for that.
Quote
tell application "Triumph"
   set aWorkspace to current workspace of front document
   set startLocation to 0
   set endLocation to 0
   set currentMarkerName to ""
   set markerList to {}
   set locationList to {}
   set markerLocationGreaterThanEndLocation to false
   
   -- get start max end location
   try
      set endLocation to ((location of layer 1 of aWorkspace) + (length of layer 1 of aWorkspace))
   on error
      -- if no layers, give up
      return
   end try
   repeat with l in (every layer of aWorkspace)
      if endLocation < ((location of l) + (length of l)) then
         set endLocation to ((location of l) + (length of l))
      end if
   end repeat
   
   -- get all markers and their locations in all layers (including master layer)
   repeat with l in (every label of master layer in aWorkspace)
      if type of l is "marker" then
         set end of markerList to l
         if location of l is not equal to startLocation then -- don't add initial location again
            if location of l is not equal to endLocation then -- don't add end location again
               if location of l > endLocation then -- if marker location exists that's greater than max layer end
                  set endLocation to location of l
                  set markerLocationGreaterThanEndLocation to true -- so we know not to add end location again (after sort)
               end if
               set end of locationList to location of l
            end if
         end if
      end if
   end repeat
   repeat with l in (every label of every layer in aWorkspace)
      if type of l is "marker" then
         set end of markerList to l
         if location of l is not equal to startLocation then
            if location of l is not equal to endLocation then
               if location of l > endLocation then
                  set endLocation to location of l
                  set markerLocationGreaterThanEndLocation to true
               end if
               set end of locationList to location of l
            end if
         end if
      end if
   end repeat
   
   if (count locationList) is 0 then -- quit if list is empty
      return
   end if
   
   -- sort locationList
   local s, l, a, b, c, j, r, v, i, tmp
   
   script k -- list access speed kludge
      property lst : locationList's items
   end script
   if k's lst's length < 2 then set locationList to k's lst
   set s to {a:1, b:count k's lst, c:missing value} -- unsorted slices stack
   repeat until s is missing value
      set l to s's a
      set r to s's b
      set s to get s's c
      set i to l
      set j to r
      set v to k's lst's item ((l + r) div 2)
      repeat while (j > i)
         repeat while (k's lst's item i < v)
            set i to i + 1
         end repeat
         repeat while (k's lst's item j > v)
            set j to j - 1
         end repeat
         if (i ≤ j) then
            set tmp to k's lst's item i
            set k's lst's item i to k's lst's item j
            set k's lst's item j to tmp
            set i to i + 1
            set j to j - 1
         end if
      end repeat
      if (l < j) then set s to {a:l, b:j, c:s}
      if (r > i) then set s to {a:i, b:r, c:s}
   end repeat
   set locationList to k's lst
   
   -- insert start and end locations into locationList
   set beginning of locationList to startLocation
   if not markerLocationGreaterThanEndLocation then -- if endLocation set in beginning of script is largest value
      set end of locationList to endLocation
   end if
   
   -- render
   repeat with i from 1 to (((count locationList) as number) - 1)
      repeat with m in markerList -- find marker with matching location
         if item i of locationList is equal to location of m then
            set renderName to name of m -- set name of rendering
            exit repeat
         else
            set renderName to "unknown"
         end if
      end repeat
      render aWorkspace as type "WAVE File" name renderName from item i of locationList to item (i + 1) of locationList bit depth 24 sample rate 96000
   end repeat
end tell
After you do the render the files are located in the "Renders" tab on the righthand side of the window, just select them and save them to where ever.

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (91)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4687
  • Gender: Male
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #78 on: February 17, 2013, 01:03:30 PM »
I seem to be having issues with making a 4 track matrix in wave editor. I simply opened each channel tracked it out and then tried to burn to cd using toast. Toast shuts down immediately. How do I make a 4 track matrix?
No Mics
Clamps
Cables
No Preamp
Recorders

Offline ArchivalAudio

  • Trade Count: (19)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2891
  • Gender: Male
  • Teams Milab | MBHO | TeamVW:2011 Touareg TDI
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #79 on: February 17, 2013, 02:45:03 PM »
I wonder about 4 channel too...
usually you would need to bounce the tracks or export as stereo, in most other software. Also Is there a channel strip mixer, or how do you adjust levels of each track.

To burn you would likely need to save labels to   - select labels then right click, choose save selection to...
choose wave
I'll say if you then
 use XAct to convert waves  flac and add meta data - track names etc, when you drop the flac into toast you will have  a cd with proper cd text as the meta data retains.
~ Archival Audio ~
Archiving Worthy Music
since 1986 & digitally since 1995

https://www.facebook.com/ArchivalAudio/

Main Mics: Milab VM-44 Links • Milab DC-196's (Matched  Pair)  • MBHO KA500 or KA300 •
PreAmps:  BaybNbox  • Naiant LittleBox • Naiant [Milab VM44] TinyBox • Naiant PIPsqueak
Recorders: MixPre 10T •  Tascam DR-100 mkIII • Sony A-10 • Sony M-10 

macMini 3Ghz i7 16GB Ram 500GB SSD • MOTU UltraLite
Naiant MSH-2's •   TOA K1's • Beyer TG 153c's •  AT 853 (4.7kmod darktrain) • Countryman B3's (1 k mod)  + other assorted mics

Offline DigiGal

  • AES Associate Member
  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2583
  • Gender: Female
  • Stay healthy and safe!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #80 on: February 17, 2013, 03:03:46 PM »
I seem to be having issues with making a 4 track matrix in wave editor. I simply opened each channel tracked it out and then tried to burn to cd using toast. Toast shuts down immediately. How do I make a 4 track matrix?

Never made a four track matrix with wave editor but why would you use toast?  Wave Editor will make Red Book CD's and Text CD's; [File] -> [Burn Disc] for CD's after you've created the track markers and labeled your tracks (for text CD's) in wave editor.

For more info [Wave Editor] -> [Manual] -> [Mastering]
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 03:13:30 PM by DigiGal »
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 D-330BT | DPA 4060 4061 4266 | Neumann TLM 103 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD MKE2 MD421 MD431 | Shure VP88 SM7B SM63L SM58 Anniversary Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 Quad w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: SD MixPre-D Recorders: SD MixPre 6 | Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 2011 27" 3.4GHz Quad i7 iMac High Sierra | 2020 13" MBA Quad i7 Catalina | Wave Editor | xACT | Transmission | FCP X 

Offline geequeue

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #81 on: February 18, 2013, 09:44:02 AM »
I've been VERY happy using this program in Windows; so incredibly easy to use once you get it set up:

http://www.goldwave.com/

Lifetime license. Love the left/right mouse button selection as well, makes for some VERY speedy editing! (edit: not trying to hijack, just realized this thread may be about one specific wav editor. Apologies)

"Quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten"

AT853SC-ELE--->AT8538--->Tascam DR-40 (usb bus-powered by PowerGen PGMPP12000)

https://soundcloud.com/geequeue

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (91)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4687
  • Gender: Male
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #82 on: February 18, 2013, 12:48:39 PM »
I seem to be having issues with making a 4 track matrix in wave editor. I simply opened each channel tracked it out and then tried to burn to cd using toast. Toast shuts down immediately. How do I make a 4 track matrix?

Never made a four track matrix with wave editor but why would you use toast?  Wave Editor will make Red Book CD's and Text CD's; [File] -> [Burn Disc] for CD's after you've created the track markers and labeled your tracks (for text CD's) in wave editor.

For more info [Wave Editor] -> [Manual] -> [Mastering]

thanks, this is helpful information.
No Mics
Clamps
Cables
No Preamp
Recorders

Offline macdaddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7657
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #83 on: February 18, 2013, 11:31:19 PM »
sent ya a pm the other day...
-macdaddy ++

akg c422 > s42 > lunatec v2 > ad2k+ > roland r-44

Offline bhoy

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 140
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #84 on: March 10, 2013, 03:15:49 PM »
-sam and macdaddy and others...

Just wanted to say thank for your pointers with Triumph.  Little by little, I learned how to do it and I am able to successfully process my large 24/96 wav files.  I wrote a quick little notes document as a *.docx file, and I'd be glad to send it to anyone.  It will walk you through the rough steps of using Triumph and xAct edit, slice, and convert live recording files.  Now that I now how to do it, I do find it easier than Audacity.  My Mac rips through all conversions quickly.

Bill

Offline macdaddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7657
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #85 on: March 28, 2013, 01:51:19 PM »
Nice. I would live to see that file. Thanks for the offer.
-macdaddy ++

akg c422 > s42 > lunatec v2 > ad2k+ > roland r-44

Offline macdaddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7657
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #86 on: June 30, 2013, 04:48:38 PM »
so I tried using the r44 in 2xmono mode. so now I have two mono files, one left and one right. but when I load the files into wave editor, I am unable to make one of the channels left, and one of them right. how do I do this..? thanks, in advance.
-macdaddy ++

akg c422 > s42 > lunatec v2 > ad2k+ > roland r-44

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40690
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #87 on: July 02, 2013, 02:25:57 AM »
so I tried using the r44 in 2xmono mode. so now I have two mono files, one left and one right. but when I load the files into wave editor, I am unable to make one of the channels left, and one of them right. how do I do this..? thanks, in advance.

Just wondering, but what made you try the dual mono recording? The few times I used the SD744, I recorded 4 x mono files, but with SD's Wave Agent, it was a SNAP to make them into 2 x stereo files ;)

Could you use SD's Wave Agent and make them 2 x stereo files so they load into your DAW correctly? Im almost 100% sure that SD's Wave Agent works on Macs as well 8)
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250|0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v|Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline macdaddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7657
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #88 on: July 02, 2013, 02:32:15 AM »
thx for the idea - i will seek out that program for the mac...

i used mono mode because this way, the files dont split during a set, since they dont get to 2gigs, whereas the files split after an hour if stereo @ 24/96.

-macdaddy ++

akg c422 > s42 > lunatec v2 > ad2k+ > roland r-44

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40690
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: audiofile-engineering wave editor
« Reply #89 on: July 02, 2013, 04:13:29 AM »
thx for the idea - i will seek out that program for the mac...

i used mono mode because this way, the files dont split during a set, since they dont get to 2gigs, whereas the files split after an hour if stereo @ 24/96.



Ahh, great idea ;)
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250|0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v|Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.109 seconds with 44 queries.
© 2002-2024 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF