Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Best setup with room for improvement  (Read 3408 times)

Offline theotherwhiteguy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Best setup with room for improvement
« on: January 28, 2012, 07:04:46 PM »
Hello all,

Newbie here.  I'm looking to purchase a sound package for field recording.  It'll be used mostly for low budget indie films, documentaries, corporate videos.  I have around $4,500 to spend on a complete package and know I can't get everything I want all at once, so I'd like to have a package that has room for improvement, but a solid professional system to use for a couple years.

I've been doing a lot of research and have a good idea on what microphones I want.  I plan on getting (2) g3's with rode lav's and a rode ntg3 shotgun with windscreens, shock mount, xlr's & boom pole bag.  That totals $2,400.  So, I'm left with around 2k for a recorder & mixer.  I'd still have to buy a gear bag & case to carry my equipment, so I'm really only left with $1,700. 

I was thinking of getting a Sound Devices 302 with an H4N.  The idea behind that setup is that when I have the funds available, I'd purchase a better recorder and be able to keep the 302 on the next recorder. 

Another option I'm debating is buying a recorder such as the Edirol r44 or the Tascam DR-680 and purchasing a mixer at a later time. 

Any opinion would be fantastic.

Thanks,
Jason

Offline justink

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Best setup with room for improvement
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 07:37:53 PM »
i've had my R-44 for a couple years now and i can't imagine ever giving it up for something else.
Mics:
DPA 4023 (Cardioid)
DPA 4028 (Subcardioid)
DPA 4018V (Supercardioid)
Earthworks TC25 (Omni) 

Pres and A/D's:
Grace Design Lunatec V3 (Oade ACM)
Edirol UA-5 (bm2p+ Mod)

Recorders:
Sound Devices MixPre10 II
Edirol R-44 (Oade CM)
Sony PCM‑M10

Offline dogmusic

• Taperssection Member