Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Advice Request, $300 to spend: What external mics (including battery box) to buy  (Read 2894 times)

Offline RockTheMullet

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hey,
I'm sorry if this is the wrong forum for this (I was debating between this and the "Ask A Taper" forum) and I am sure questions like this get asked all the time, but I'm a newbie here and I couldn't find anything similar.

I tape with the Tascam DR07mkII Portable Stereo Digital Recorder.  I was just using the internal mics for a while, but a friend let me borrow his Core Sound Binaural (CSB) mics for a few months and after using those, I have realized how much better my recordings come out using external microphones.  I'm planning to buy some external mics in the next few days and was going to go with the CSBs because they're relatively inexpensive and I know they provide a recording that sounds good to my ears, but I thought it would be a good idea to check with some people who know more about the different equipment available to make sure I am making the best choice.  I have $300 to spend on mics (including the battery box, clips, and other add-ons), so are the CSBs the best route to go or is there something equal or better available at a cheaper price?

Thanks in advance!

Thanks for all of the advice, guys!  I decided to go with the Core Sound Binaural fixed flat response set.  I got used to using those while I had my friends set and I figured those are good 'starter' mics for me to use for a while until I decide it is worth upgrading to something better.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2014, 01:07:48 AM by RockTheMullet »
Mics:  Core Sound Binaural
Recorders: Tascam DR07mkII Portable Stereo Digital Recorder

Offline jbell

• TDS
  • Trade Count: (149)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Spreadicated
Mics: DPA ST4011ER & 4018ER | Neumann kk 184 (matched)> Nbob/PFA
Preamps: DPA MMA 6000 | Audioroot Femto