Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: ADk Tls or Akg 481s  (Read 7740 times)

Offline bagtagsell

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Man is condemned to be free- Sartre
ADk Tls or Akg 481s
« on: October 19, 2004, 12:52:59 PM »
Well i got a decision in front of me...
Tls or Akg.  The akg is $100 more, but comes with some extras (like a special case).  Hmmm what to do?  Any advice?
MG200/210>m148>v3>MT2496

*aspiring gear slut of the month year*
"I am the gear slut goo goo g’joob g’goo goo g’joob"

Offline pfife

• Emperor of Ticketucky
  • Needs to get out more...
  • I love/hate tickets.
Re: ADk Tls or Akg 481s
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2004, 12:54:57 PM »
my TL's came with a case too...

I have no experience with AKG's, but I know a lot of people like them, but I think you have to buy new caps to change patterns, where as the TL's have switchable patterns.

TL's are huge too.
Tickets are dead to me.  Except the ones I have, don't have, and lost.  Not to mention the ones you have, don't have, and lost.   And the ones that other dude has, doesn't have, and lost.  Let me know if you need some tickets, I'm happy to oblige. 

Tickets >>>>>>>> Oxygen

Offline johnw

• Trade Count: (11)
    • My cd List
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2004, 01:05:56 PM »
Well i got a decision in front of me...
Tls or Akg.  The akg is $100 more, but comes with some extras (like a special case).  Hmmm what to do?  Any advice?

What special case? If it is the original plastic case, I don't think this would be helpful for taping - only storage at home. The AKGs would also be way more than $100 more to get all the patterns the TLs have. If you don't mind the weight and will use all the patterns on the TLs, they make great recordings. If you only want card mics with the option to add other patterns later and need a smaller microphone the AKGs rock! Although I'm not sure the mics sound exactly alike, they are both good choives. Good luck and +T