Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Random newbie questions - please help  (Read 2091 times)

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

• <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Random newbie questions - please help
« on: January 11, 2004, 04:33:26 PM »
OK, I've been taping and playing for a few months and I'm definitely still Newbian...

And now I have a few more questions, some concerning the UA5, others concerning cables and patching...  I've looked through the FAQs, and have found lots, but haven't found answers to my specific queries:

I sometimes tape out of the SBD at my local bar and run the RCA outs into my UA5 into my Nomad 3 thru optical out.  I used to run the SBD RCA line-out into the back of the UA5 where the "volume" can be controlled.  This however controls both right and left equally...  So then I got some RCA>1/4" mono plug adapters so I can now run the SBD into the front of the UA5 into the XLR-1/4" inputs.  These have "sensitivity" knobs and can be adjusted right and left...  Here is my question:  IS THIS A PROBLEM???  What exactly is the difference between running into the back and running into the front?  Does doing this run the SBD signal thru the pre-amps?  

And this brings me to my next question:

This same SBD has a loose connection on the right RCA out, so I've thought about using the XLR outs.  I went and bought some XLR>RCA cables (2 - right and left) for SBD XLR out > RCA > 1/4" adapter plug > front of UA5 inputs.  

Is this going to be a problem???

I have no idea what balanced and unbalanced XLR is and what the SBD is outputing.  I'm concerned about hot signals and attentuators and transformers and such and such...