Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Budget Rig-Recording straight to computer?  (Read 2660 times)

Offline kdunne916

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Budget Rig-Recording straight to computer?
« on: November 09, 2009, 03:54:45 PM »
Let me start by saying that I have no experience in taping live shows.  I have recorded some audio in a small home studio and have always been interested in taping live concerts but have never had the money for an expensive rig.  Is there any reason a setup could not be used where the computer is the source of power and reording for the setup?  Im thinking about getting a pair of fostex MC10st's and running them through an ART usb dual pre, which would be powered and connected via USB bus to a laptop running audacity or garage band to record and tweak the input.  Any thoughts?
"Someday you'll C-2"

Offline fmaderjr

• Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Budget Rig-Recording straight to computer?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2009, 05:01:23 PM »
I don't know how quiet that cheap preamp is going to be. Someone who knows about them might chime in.

I would discourage recording with a lap top unless it is the only way you can afford to put together a system. Lots of gear to carry around, not convenient to use, not possible to stealth with, etc.

If you can afford to, I would get an good inexpensive recorder like an iRiver H120 (only available used-sometimes available on this board for $100 or so), a Church Audio ST-9100 preamp and a Church Audio mic like the CA-11's or 14's (cost of a Church package around $300 shipped, but if patient you can find them cheaper in the yard sale here).

The above system will sound great, probably much better than a computer system with a cheap pre, and be much more portable and convenient to use. 
AT853's (all caps)/CM-300 Franken Naks (CP-1,2,3)/JBMod Nak 700's (CP-701,702) > Tascam DR-680
Or Sonic Studios DSM-6 > M10

Offline illconditioned