Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Please Help Me Build a Semi-Stealth Rig  (Read 8772 times)

Offline glennjr

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • Professional Chinese Voice Over
Please Help Me Build a Semi-Stealth Rig
« on: January 11, 2013, 09:42:17 AM »
I'm hoping to get your opinions on a semi-stealth rig to build. I'm new to stealth recording and I think I'm not aware of all the options that are out there. so please let me know if I'm headed in the right direction. Any advice is much appreciated.

I'm looking to put together a semi-stealth rig for recording ambiances with people (inside train, restaurant, shopping mall, etc). So it doesn't need to be super small or truly hidden, but rather, not LOOK like a bag full of recording gear - like my DR-680 & Petrol bag looks like now!

I'd like to use my CM3's for this or something similar...maybe even my AT825 or similar one-point type mics. I don't necessarily need to use lavs for this rig. What this guy has going is probably what I'll end up with structurally:

http://thesoundmyheadmakes.blogspot.tw/2011/11/stealth-rig-prototype.html

My biggest concern is having clean preamps. If the recorder has XLR inputs, that would be great, but so far I'm wary of what I'm seeing in the handheld recorder department.

I'm considering to go with the Nagra Lino for the recorder. But not sure the best way to get a stereo signal into it. I've seen a post here saying you can cut a dual RCA to mini-jack cable and solder XLR's to it, but not sure if plugging that directly into the Lino would work. I'd probably need something to supply the phantom power, right?

What else would you recommend in the recorder department? The less 'moving parts' the better. But I'd consider something like the tinybox if need be. I'd like to spend no more than $500...maybe could go to $600.

Thanks for help and wisdom!

ChineseVocal.com  - Professional Chinese Voice Over

Offline acidjack

• Site Supporter