Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: recorder and mic recommendations for radio-quality interviews  (Read 6172 times)

Offline nathan fairbairn

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
recorder and mic recommendations for radio-quality interviews
« on: December 15, 2006, 07:00:51 PM »
Hey, all. Total noob here. Not an audio guy at all. But my wife is a freelance radio reporter and I want to buy her a nice recorder and mic for X-mas. After doing as much research as I can stand, I'm thinking the H4 coupled with a good condenser mic, most likely the AKG 1000-s, would suit her needs, and would constitute good value. Basically she needs to be able record radio-quality interviews in all manner of locations and environments, as well as maybe some ambient noise. She has a mac.

Sorry for the noob post, but I'd sure appreciate someone telling me if I'm making a mistake. Thanks in advance guys, and Merry Christmas!

Offline Frosty

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2006, 07:03:41 PM »

MHO - this unit will do that job.  But, also MHO, the Edirol R-09 is simpler to use.  Practically point-and-shoot.

Offline Will_S

• Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2006, 07:07:34 PM »
With a real mic like the C1000s that has an XLR connection and can run off phantom power, the H4 is actually a lot easier to use than something like the R9.

Since your wife uses a Mac, get her a USB SD card reader ($15) as for some reason the Zoom H4 is limited to USB 1.0 transfer speeds when used with a Mac.

Offline nathan fairbairn

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2006, 07:16:12 PM »
With a real mic like the C1000s that has an XLR connection and can run off phantom power, the H4 is actually a lot easier to use than something like the R9.

Since your wife uses a Mac, get her a USB SD card reader ($15) as for some reason the Zoom H4 is limited to USB 1.0 transfer speeds when used with a Mac.