Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: r4 vs. hd-p2 as a standalone recorder  (Read 3391 times)

Offline Thomas

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • 391/MK90>MP2>SBM1>JB3
r4 vs. hd-p2 as a standalone recorder
« on: May 01, 2007, 02:53:05 PM »
Who here uses either an edirol r-4 or tascam hd-p2 as a standalone recorder? 

Ive been thinking of a gear change for a while and would really like to make the jump to an all in one recorder, but don't want to drop 2k on a Sound Devices box.  I have been running 391>MP2>SBM1>JB3 for a few years now, and would really like to hear a different pre with the akgs. 

Another related question: the prices on oade.com listed for mods only cover the cost of the mod, you have to either purchase a deck from them, or send them a deck to mod, right?
then we tell the kids that its good versus evil
that country and god are more important than people
we say it so much that its almost believable
Fear, we'll leave nobody behind.

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

• <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re: r4 vs. hd-p2 as a standalone recorder
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2007, 02:55:38 PM »

Ive been thinking of a gear change for a while and would really like to make the jump to an all in one recorder, but don't want to drop 2k on a Sound Devices box.  I have been running 391>MP2>SBM1>JB3 for a few years now, and would really like to hear a different pre with the akgs. 

Another related question: the prices on oade.com listed for mods only cover the cost of the mod, you have to either purchase a deck from them, or send them a deck to mod, right?

The price you see on Oade ($1275 for the ACM HD-P2) is for the whoe kit and kaboodle.  You get a modded P2 shipped for the price.  AFAIK, Oade only mods P2 you buy from him...

Terry